You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The ONE thing missing in social media & why you NEED to know it!

in #dlive6 years ago

Top stuff, Nathan - testify!

I think you pretty much covered everything someone hearing about the idea for the first time would need to know. Maybe powering up could have been slipped in, or rather just the idea that as that as your contribution grows, so does your influence, so (in theory) do the rewards. I'm new here myself, getting ready to post what I consider to be good quality content - frequently - but just nosing around for the moment, finding my feet. Anyone who has an interest in Steemit succeeding should be thankful for posts like this, so good on you and thanks.

Saw this through @omitaylor's RT on Twitter, which I've re-retweeted in turn. Love your instrumentarium, btw, which I just saw in all its glory (well, except for the didgeridoos) in your Creation Station post.

Sort:  

Thanks so much @gussiefinknottle! I appreciate that heaps!
I didn't really want to get into the nitty-gritty of how Steemit best works to grow an account in this video. Powering Up is an important concept to grasp for a newbie. No doubt, but that's a video/blog post for people who've already joined.

The purpose of this video is for attracting the attention of an FB user that has never heard of Steemit ever before.

That's so cool that you saw this through Omi's retweet on twitter. She's friggin' awesome!

Yes! Don't hesitate any longer. Get posting asap. At least start by resteeming posts that you like so that you're supporting other content creators and generating some income flow and reputation to your account.
Commenting like you have here is key to building a network, but people aren't likely to follow you until you post some content to your blog, so they know what you stand for.
From that point you'll have the opportunity to be invited to some fun and powerful group communities here.

Keep in touch...
Blessings

Yep, point taken about reaching out to the outside world rather than preaching to the converted. My comment about powering up certainly wasn't meant as a criticism, I should make clear.

You nailed it with Omi. She's the best, and like I told her she's just the kind of (highly competent) glue that's needed to help bind this whole thing together if we're going to build it into the fantastic thing it could be. Not that it isn't already but, you know, there are some problems too.

I have to put one or two things in order (not least positioning myself for any crypto bull run :o)) but very soon now I'll be putting my strategy into action, which is to get writing some posts then start to upload them while writing others. Then work towards becoming a steemiteditor, though that's another story. Have been putting time into building what promise to be some really solid connections, but of course you're right, it's by posting that I'll start to grow.

Enough about me. Point is, this was really useful, exactly because it's designed to pull in people onto the platform from outside. Thanks for the super-friendly reply, and certainly hope to have more contact, not least because music is my main thing.