You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: YouTube is Dying and I've Got the Data to Prove It. | Q1 '18 Streaming Platform Report

in #dlive6 years ago

Fantastic well written write up. I got lost in some parts, but your conclusion brought everything back together. It doesn't surprise me that YouTube is losing users due to lower ad revenues, some of my favorite Youtubers talk about how much the ad revenue has been sucking lately. I hope users leave Twitch for Steem, DTube, and Dlive. When do you think that tipping point will be? It could happen so fast over the course of a few months. I noticed recently one of my favorite Youtubers, the hodge twins joined Steemit. I like the view to stream stats you posted. I would be interested to regularly here these statistic updates! I bet you could correlate a decrease in YouTube creation with an increase in Steem Price!

Sort:  

Ah! That's an interesting one, I'll definitely include steem price data in the next one to see if it correlates to any industry metrics!

Honestly, I don't think that tipping point will come soon. I think DLive and DTube are still in the very early stages of adoption. It would take them years to displace Twitch and YouTube, unless something major happens. Even still, it'll likely be a slow and gradual change.