You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: DLive is Leaving Steem, And This is My Last Blog Post on Steemit

in #dlive6 years ago (edited)

Yes, but the upvotes have countered them of course... check my comment if you need to, there is nothing to hide.

You seem cool headed to me, you are not being disrespectful and it's not my style to be aggressive, so you won't get such rhetoric from me. However, I think you are in the minority, I got a few nasty dms calling me a hypocrite and one of them threatening.

Obviously that's not your case, but since to tribalistic minds Im part of the crew that threw @dlive under the bus, I must be put in place too.

Now, by all means, I'm no victim... I'm an investor like you, a fellow steemian, and a witness who cares, that is all.

Sort:  

One of the problems kent was trying to outline- if you dissent from popular opinion, you are going to get flagged. The whales can and will value whatever they agree with, and devalue whatever they don't.

This ultimately makes steem more about power structures and connections than it does quality of content. I can spend hours working on a post that dissents from popular opinion, only to get flagged by some angry whale in disagreement. I can spend seconds writing some easily agreeable bullshit, and i'm sure i'd get upvotes- if I really cared more about the payout than I do my content.

I respect your investigation and your politeness, but you have to realize you are profiting off of the circle jerk way that steem works- not necessarily your content.

Oh, but I don't know if you expected me to disagree with you on this. Yes of course, if you stray from popular opinion you pay the price for it, yes this is the case, I would never say otherwise.

However to me, at least in my limited knowledge of sociology, this is nothing but a virtual representation of normal social dynamics. If you were the only person in your neighborhood that burnt trash, you would also pay the social consequence of doing so, as much as you would argue its your right, your property and your freedom.

I will grant you my example is too easy to analyze, but I'm sure it would not take much imagination to think of others. My point however, is that what some describe as the problem is actually human nature.

Now, in my personal opinion many disagreements can be solved if we had the emotional agility to circumvent triggers. I say this, because most of the time when people react in anger, they do so because they feel the comments, the critique is personal, and sometimes, as it is the case right now, you are doing nothing else but outlining what you perceive to be wrong with the current system.

Your opinion has nothing to do with me, not even a little bit. The avatar in front of you has not changed in the slightest, my wife has not left me, and I'm still drinking a nice cup of coffee. However, I'm self aware of that particular truth, but I may stand in the minority.

Why would society evolve to implement dire social consequences for dissent? That is an amazing question, and one that we could either try to deny, and fail at doing so, or embrace even though we can't fully grasp it.

Regarding your comment on me not being rewarded for my actual content, but my ability to incept myself inside the circle jerks. As much as I don't particularly like the charged words you've chosen to use, I think you seem to be describing another aspect of society.

Some people don't like to believe that hierarchy and caste systems exist, they mere idea of such thing is tinged with shades of guilt. But, can we respect honesty while denying it? Of course not, I'm willing to say that, as uncomfortable as it may be.

So you could say, that maybe through some sort of social adequacy I've been able to insert myself into a social circle that grants me some sort of privilege, that might be accurate to say. But again, isn't that a reflection of how life works?

I'm also very honest about this fact: This is not a content platform. It's possibly never been. But, we hold that carrot (I include myself) in front of a stick to drive our idealism forward.

I sincerely wish I was a whale to upvote this conversation more. Bravo both of you.

@meno, witness? Im lazy and attempting to monitor my sons stream. If you could reply with the link to vote for you I would appreciate it.

Than You Eric, that is very kind of you...

Done. Thank YOU!

Regarding your comment on me not being rewarded for my actual content, but my ability to incept myself inside the circle jerks. As much as I don't particularly like the charged words you've chosen to use, I think you seem to be describing another aspect of society.

It's called a feedback loop! Your content will get valued based on a miriad of factors- but not one is more important than the connections you have with other steemians, particularly the powerful ones. I use the term "circle jerk" because it is an incredibly accurate description of what is happening.

Dlive wants content based value. You conceded that steem (as a system) is bad at evaluating value based on content. That is why dlive is leaving.

The amount of mental gymnastics that is being done in these threads is sad. I don't need a sociology degree to see steem has systematic issues when it comes to valuing content.

Dlive wants a better system.

They are never going to understand that you can only go so long putting make up on a pig. They will never deal with the censorship problems and how that actually stunts the growth of steemit. Flag should be used for abuse only, it should never be used for opposing views,. This platform would explode with users if they would be left to debate openly, honestly and fairly without fear of being flagged.

Dlive wants a better system.

we all do brother...

I'm part of a group of people that is trying to change culture. But we all have different ways of solving the puzzle.

I am happy we can agree on something.

I for one am going to use both blockchains for more revenue streams and exposure of my content. I think it is a mistake for steemians to try to ostracize those like myself for doing so.

I will be an investor and content creator on both platforms and I will be most happy if both blockchains succeed. :)