[Guide]How to Live stream on Dlive Using OBS

in #dlive6 years ago (edited)

Ill be showing you how to live stream on https://dlive.io


8b4bd591fb4eecf436047c54556a50e5.png

By the end of this this tutorial we will have you streaming like a pro.


First: step download obs: https://obsproject.com/

Be sure to install the correct version of obs for your system.


40b27fb40a57246303204d2aa9594618.png


Second: Install obs:



951de512a32cc6579bb6dcd45edb265d.png


Third: run obs in admin mode if your using pc.

Sometimes windows machines have issues when not running admin mode.


Fourth: Making a scene

Then go down to scenes make a new scene by clicking the +


4f55c324bccb0b24e0a115ac0830a4b4.png


Fifth: Making a source

Then go down to sources make a new scene by clicking the +. The 4 sources that i have circled are the most used once play around with them and it will be pretty straight forward. To hide sources just click the eye icon and it will turn into a dark eye and turn that source off.


4bd1fbafe4c966eb193d18499bf3024d.png


Sixth: Getting stream key and url

You need to login to dlives website, then go to https://www.dlive.io/#/go-live/info


032ec491b0b024cb0e666928513ea7c1.png


Sixth: Setting stream keys

You click file in the top left hand corner of obs.
Click settings then go to stream tab
Stream types needs to be turned to custom
Copy all the credentials from the dlive info page then hit apply below.


cb3e5ee012c6c7565375120b69d80f2d.png


7th: Starting Stream

If you are put the details in correct you should now be streaming.


424615bcfea1d7b0a2bdc606eaedc413.png

Video guide coming soon for those who don't like to read!

Sort:  

@thedegensloth
@dlive

Is there a way to do a private live stream?

"Is there anyone out there?" -Pink Floyd

Failed to connect to server. HELP i check everything and follow every step and it still doesn't work.

" Failed to connect to server" I dont know how to repair it

same for me,

Same :/ any ideas @thedegensloth?

I knew the reason. DO you wanna know how?

Yes please.

I finally got it to work by actually posting first with dlive, and then pressing start before hitting start streaming in OBS. Whats your way @yunne18696?

Thanks Avesa! You brought the solution!! I first got to press play on my stream in Dlive, then I got to press play on my stream in OBS. Finally it was working, thanks :-)

Awesome!! you're so welcome! A leetle tricky, indeed. Glad it worked for ya!

Thanks. It worked. It's weird that you actually need to start the stream 2 places.

I know right?? I just saw it thanks to this post. Hopefully they make it auto-start or at least tell us what to do as we fill it out.

Actually I tried that and I couldnt connect even after I started the stream on DLive. Log states that the server refused the connection attempts and just dropped them. Just tried it from a different machine with seperate internet connection and same error there, though i didn't go through to post this time. I did see a tutorial on the site where the guy could connect even before posting so it should be possible or was possible on an earlier version? Either way the platform needs a preview similar to twitch to be a viable option in my eyes.

Dang. sorry to hear that. Wish I knew how to fix that.

I agree about the preview :/

Thank you, I was able to setup my first live broadcast of PUBG. Unfortunately no one watched it lol!

Thanks for sharing this. It helps to enhance and educate us who may not be as effective in technology. With technology, we can actually create a greater influence! Great sharing!

How do I set a thumbnail for my stream? I tried using all sorts of images but they all don't work - and I can't stream without having a thumbnail

I'm having the same problem, also looking for an answer. If i find it I will pass it along. Hope to see you streaming soon.

I basically just made a jpeg image in GIMP, doesn't look like there are issues with the uploader.

I have followed this guide step by step but still get a "can't connect to server" message..
Anything I've done wrong?
Error1.jpg
Error2.jpg
Any help is appreciated!

nevermind.. it just took a few tries and restarts :)

Can I express how simple it is to set up OBS over other broadcasting software?! Can I also express how helpful this tutorial can be? Especially for new comers! This should be the go to post for new comers to dlive!

I am an expert and this is still hard. I can't go live.

Brilliant! This got me off the ground with DLive. Thank you.

I like Dlive idea n stuff, but its almost impossible for me to start due to some weird errors such as "end your ongoing broadcast" even if im offline or "Update failed, reason:Error: GraphQL error: could not update post by guest user: [zyragon]"
Any clues?

this is THE best guide to getting up and going with dlive. that you even thought to make this post is profound in its simplicity & very helpful to so many. to those having any issue my guess is the various configurations for obs that will likely be specific to what you are trying to achieve in terms of stream cast & how your computer is set up. BRAVO thedegensloth excellent work!

Thanks for your article.
Check out my tutorial if you wanna know How to: Use your Android mobile device as streaming camera with OBS, using IP Webcam.

Seriously, I open OBS, I put in everything that dlive instructs me to put in, and i'm greeted with and error saying that I can't connect. Yeah...uhh...this is why I'd rather use twitch or even mixer. Considering even leaving steemit over this. I like uploading videos and streaming. If I can do 1 but not the other, it's not worth doing in my opinion.

thank you good sir

I can't copy the stream URL & key from Dlive into my OBS. I try many times to copy and paste. Copying the codes from Dlive seems to be disabled.

I can't copy the stream URL & key from Dlive into my OBS. I try many times to copy and paste. Copying the codes from Dlive seems to be disabled.

Dlive Disabled Screenshot at 2018-05-26 19:58:51.png

did u figure out why ? i have the same problem.

Not yet.

Click the eye to the right, double click within the textbox to highlight the whole text, Ctrl+C.

I can do Dlive via my Brave browser, that way, like you said, by double clicking the text, but Firefox has not let me. That might be just a Firefox issue.

https://gyazo.com/1c53388041ed6b151c859cd7a7363e7f
Why is it not possible to click the URL and Stream Key ? unless i figure that out i cant connect my obs with dlive.

Any way of doing this without a pc. Like with a tablet or mobile phone. Or even just with the console only

You will need to find a streaming app.