You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: In Light Of Recent Events: Can We Reach A Consensus On Banning Abusive Users From Steem?

in #dlive6 years ago

Hard forks to recover major frauds are also discussed in other crypto currencies, e.g. Ethereum has split due to this already (due to the “DAO” case).

In this special case I see the loss recovery potential, but that fraud would go on because a new account is easily created.
And who would decide on such a hard fork?
All users or the witnesses by vote? Or the developers without taking the users/witnesses opinion into account? Would all be willing to spend time with each case to make an educated decision? What would be done when a decision later turns out to be wrong?
Other items arise from deploying such measures to other cases, which is the next logical step when such a hard fork procedure is in place. Steemit is worldwide so which values system should apply?
Actually I don’t have answers to these questions myself. While I see great potential in Steemit as well as major unsolved issues (where this case is not even the worst one that may occur in my own opinion).

I fully understand that you are pissed, I would be pissed big time too. And it is great that you have shared your story and a discussion started from it!

Finally I would like to use this reply to ask everyone in this discussion to keep in mind that vigilante justice didn’t worked out very well in the past.