Iglu-Dorf Bar in Dlux VR

in #dlux3 years ago (edited)

image.JPG

image.JPG

I have been wanting to experiment with Dlux for a while now. It seems like a cool project and with VR becoming more and more commonplace I am trying to think of ways to use it to showcase my work.

This post is just a little test to see if I can actually get something to display in a 360 panorama. This is all very new to me so I can't be sure of the setting or even if the panoramas I shot with my phone will work.

This was the nearly finish igloo bar in the 2013 Iglu-Dorf in Davos, Switzerland which I created with Martin Smits. It was to have a Jazz bar feel and I believe the best way to show it is in a new way that Dlux has provided. Having a 360 canvas is a very interesting experience for a sculptor especially due to the fact that you are carving from the inside outwards.

If all goes well I will upload a fuller experience with some of the other rooms I made.


View in VR @ dlux.io

Sort:  

It looked pretty cool on my browser :) (had to use my alt browser as Firefox was a bit too good and squishing third party scripts)

Youngest had a billion questions I couldn't answer about it, including if you were making it as a VR Home thing, or going to do AR stuff with it, and I eventually stavedf off further questions by explaining that you're a sculptor and it would be much cooler if we could "walk around/in" your sculptures than looking at photos and he was like oh yeh that's cool XD

When I compare it to the one shoot professional at the project two years ago I know I need a better camera.
https://peakd.com/art/@ammonite/iglu-dorf-snow-hotel-virtual-tour-snow-sculpture
Maybe I will get one as a present sometime. Hint hint @clodaghdowning
!ENGAGE15

You could always do what J did and wait for prices to drop on a known good camera (even if it's not the latest and greatest by that stage) and snap it up and apologise later XD

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

It's amusing to see the "traditional" Inuit spelling of "Igloo". My town is known as Igloolik to everyone but the Inuit, who write Iglulik

I actually spell it like they do in the Swiss-German name for the company that makes the Igloo or Iglu. Thanks for letting me know that it is the traditional spelling as I have big respect for the technology behind these structures even though I wouldn't class the ones that I help create actually Iglu. They are more just balloons covered in snow. then removed.
!ENGAGE20

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

Congratulations @ammonite! You received a personal badge!

You powered-up at least 10 HIVE on Hive Power Up Day!
Wait until the end of Power Up Day to find out the size of your Power-Bee.
May the Hive Power be with you!

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Day - May 1st 2021 - Hive Power Delegation
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

You cannot sent token to yourself.

Congratulations @ammonite! You received a personal badge!

You powered-up at least 50 HP on Hive Power Up Day! This entitles you to a level 2 badge
Participate in the next Power Up Day and try to power-up more HIVE to get a bigger Power-Bee.
May the Hive Power be with you!

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Day - May 1st 2021 - Hive Power Delegation
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

This is cool! I wish I would have seen this while it was votable.