You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Copying Is Not Theft

in #dmania6 years ago

Yeah I don't get it why copying is considered bad. You don't steal anything at all. You just make a copy of something but the original data is still in its place.
Copying doesn't do any harm, because cuz you don't steal the orignal.
Theft is different from copying. Like with the bike in the video. If you take away the bike, it's theft, but if you copy the bike, there's a bike for each of them...

Sort:  

This is wrong.

As a business owner and individual that produces and makes a living off intellectual property such as books and videos, copying takes money from my family and business. A comment above stated it well copying does not hurt the consumer (although if they are aware, it hurts their integrity), it hurts the producer.

If done enough the incentive to produce new information or product diminishes and therefore all suffer.

I guess it entirely depends on the person. For example, if I couldn't listen to music for free, I would still never buy it. If I couldn't watch movies for free, I still wouldn't buy them. I value real things more than digital products, thus it wouldn't make much difference for me if I could copy them or not...

Copying doesn't do any harm, because cuz you don't steal the orignal.

That is false. The only point being made is that copying is not theft. Unauthorized copying can harm. It's just not theft.