DnW Poetry Contest #3: Growing Up

in #dnwpoetrycontest6 years ago (edited)

Hi everyone! This my entry to @deeday31 and @kneelyrac's DnW Poetry Contest with the theme "Time".

I was hesitant to post this at first because I only made it just now, 2 hours before the deadline. And also because of the drawing. I'm not good in art at all so I apologize for that. Haha.

Anyway, here it is.




20180122_221154-01.jpeg

Growing Up

•~•~•


The moment that she opened her eyes,
To the empty and wild world wherein she lies,
She decided to chase the butterflies,
Of the glamorous hallucination filled with beautiful smiles.

~

No matter how fast she chased with all her might,
She can’t seem to catch up to their elegant light.
She decided to pursue her goals but still,
All she got was a fraction of their beautiful will.

~

She did not stop, instead she persevered and went;
Until she made it and her energy was lost in her vent.
She can’t seem to understand why she did all that,
It seems pointless why she wanted to wear someone else’s hat.

~

What she did not know then but realized just now,
Is that her glamorous inspiration was lonely somehow.
That said inspiration was jealous of her growth,
She wished she could turn back time and enjoy her youth.

●●●


  • to wear someone else's hat - to want something that belongs to another person.

When I was a child, I couldn't wait to grow up and have a job. Experience the beautiful things in life. Have my own money, house and everything life has to offer. I wanted to rush things. But when I grew up and had a job, I realized that things are not that easy. I wish I was young again. A child without worries. A child who's happiness was just running through the fields and just playing to her heart's content. But it's too late now.


Anyway, thanks for reading. And sorry for the drawing again.

Love lots,

  • tomogiroe ❤❤❤


PLEASE ALSO READ THIS.

•~•~•

I encourage you all to support and vote Terry,

@surpassinggoogle

as your witness.

Just click here and type 'steemgigs' on the first box.
a.png
b.png

Thank you so much! ❤❤❤



U5dtTkKheiGA5GsgxJfpP9pgg1YV4Bc_1680x8400.png
STEEMIT-BLOGGERS-GIF.gif

Sort:  

@zublizainordin says @tomogiroe this is one of the Best poems I have ever read in My life. You are special and gifted. It is just like the Poem is already there, and You came at that right moment to make it a realization. Wow..! I hope You win the Contest.

Own Now = Won
#zublizainordin

Thank you so much Sir. And yes, I got the consolation prize. 😊