You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Wam | 'Seeing Allred' | your Netflix documentary for tonight

in #documentary6 years ago

You didn't bring Fraser or Young into the debate? :p They define feminism as the fight against all forms of domination and oppression - like anarchism! But then that's how I define political ecology as well...that's why I prefer talking about gender equity when only discussing gender matters (and to talk about green politics when discussing only environmental matters). First it brings forth the distinction between equality and equity. Second, it prevents stupid groups like meninists from depicting gender as a zero-sum game.

Yes, Adam Curtis! Brings back memories hehe ;)

Sort:  

Yeah! Good point, thank you! I'm ashamed to say that its been too long since I read any of their work, or any academic work for that matter, hence the lack of referencing. I also refrained from getting into the intricacies of equality vs equity, intersectionality and domination for the sake of brevity/audience. But I shall do a quick edit to add your very valuable comment :D
Adam Curtis is da bomb haha xx