You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Dog talk #1 - How is it to have 3 dogs?

in #dog6 years ago (edited)

I have 2 male dogs that are not neutered. I asked several vets opinion, in Germany, Switzerland and Italy. I wanted to neuter at least Ringo, but none of the vets said that it makes sense neutering a male adult or old dog. They usually do neuter females also for health reasons.

My personal opinion if I could turn back time? I should have insisted in neutering my little Ciccio, but back then I also felt pity for him 😬. He is now with Ringo territorial in the house and there is no way to change it.

With kids in the house it’s not easy. I always had an eye on them and would not leave them alone playing.

Sort:  

Thank you for the great answer. I also feel pity for my dog, yet I do worry for my daughter since she is not strong enough yet to stand up for herself against his dominating attitude (He is always licking her face, taking her toys out of her hands, bumping into her, etc..). What hurts me is also when I get loud and command him to stop! my daughter looks at me a little worried, not understanding why I am raising my voice to the dog. So it is a difficult choice I have to make in the next few weeks, but if it calms the dog down, I will probably go forward with the operation.