Meet Sonny - Rescued from my neighbor

in #dog6 years ago

15876545_593999364058028_2549298213865652224_n.jpg

My dog Sonny

This is my best friend, Sonny. He's really energetic, loves everyone (once he knows you), hates being left alone, and is always doing something weird when no one's looking. I only know that he's a mix of Chihuahua with something else, I'm not quite sure what other breed. Maybe fellow steemians can help me out with that!

First Day

My family did not have any intention of getting a dog, but he came into our lives in 2014. It was around 9am in the morning that I heard the muffled sound of a dog barking and yelping. I remember I got up and when I walked into the living room my mom told me there was a puppy inside our neighbors car with the windows rolled up. She asked me if I could go around the neighborhood and ask if that was their car and their dog. So I end up going to my closest neighbor and knock on their door and ask about the car. Sure enough, that was his car and his dog. I asked him why he had the dog locked in the car, he responded by saying he got it as a present to his wife but she did not want it. I was thrown off by how nonchalant he was about this response, but I did not have time to be mad about it because he asked me right away if I wanted it. I could not make that decision on my own so I told him I would come back. I told my mom all about what happened and she said right away that wee needed to take that dog away from him. So, we took him in and he's become an important part of our family. We love him, and he loves us <3 ! It's as if it was meant to be.

16123815_765193970302665_8392145433849233408_n.jpg
Him the day we got him.

Fun Quirks

Sonny loves to sleep with a stuffed animal. He usually destroys them in a matter of 2 months so we always have to get him new ones. When people are not around he goes over to doors and is able to open them by pulling on the corners, but when people are around he will just yelp to get the door opened for him. He likes to run really fast on our hardwood floors and slip when making a quick turn and slides across the floor.

15876613_1665768713724009_7191792874520838144_n.jpg

Overall, he's a really sweet dog, who comforts people if they are sad by cuddling up next to them, sometimes licking their tears. He's gotten me through some tough times and I would not trade him for anything in the world. I'm glad we took him in and super happy he's a part of my family's life.
sonny now.jpg