My Little Yellow Shadow — Portraits of a Broken Dog Learning to Heal

in #dogs7 years ago

For most of the first year I had my dog, she was terrified of me.

In my #introduceyourself post, my little goober of a pup Murphy made an appearance, and promptly upstaged me utterly. (This is the story of my life, folks.) As if my competition for attention wasn't hard enough, I do actually have another sweet soul who's sharing this wild journey through life with me. So today, inspired by the daily color challenge, I thought I'd introduce you to Berta, and tell you little about how she has changed the course of my entire life.

DSC_3729-crop.jpg

All three of my dogs (one of whom who has now passed) were at one point in their lives working sled dogs.

This is a key component to my life story as much as theirs, as I live in British Columbia — the idyllic winter wonderland backdrop to the now infamous Whistler massacre. My first dog, Goofy, was a survivor of this company, and some other really heinous realities in the tourism industry. Dog sledding here is — quite understandably — a touchy subject. For today, I'm not getting into it. This is about Bert.

crimsonclad-berta2.jpg

When the time came to expand the pack, I knew that I was absolutely adopting another sleddie. (That's a term that we crazy dog people call our retired or fired sled dogs. It's easier, cuter, and removes these incredible creatures a few steps from all the strange stigmas that surround them.) I made the scenic drive up to a kennel in the mountains; one which has worked hard to be transparent about end of life plans for their working dogs in the face of the extreme backlash here from the public. In places elsewhere around the world, they don't get to go to homes, have families, or be loved until they are ready to leave this earth... there is a shotgun, and a hole out back.

crimsonclad-berta1.jpg

There were only a few dogs there ready for retirement: age, health, and attitude all come into play when choosing who runs for tourist season and who does not. As I walked through the enclosure, a tiny, tentative chocolate chip nose emerged from the safety of a dog house. Unlike the others, pushing for attention, or cautiously approaching, Berta was shut down. She was terrified of women; the sledding kennel she was rescued from in the states was one that used physical discipline, dumping her after years of litters and as her body started to give up from the strain of constant pulling.

11024278_10155295293830596_4608058594736238104_n.jpg

My heart filled and shattered both, and in the same instant I lost it to her completely. The transfer through medical and a rescue society began that day.

 
It has not been easy. Learning to love and support a dog with extreme fear and anxiety issues has been a steep curve. Taking her into my home not knowing her true age (apart from that she is a senior) or anything about her medical history has meant the realisation that my time with her will not be as long as I would hope. But, because of her, I now work with two humane societies and the BCSPCA. I'm deeply involved in transporting and fostering other sled dogs ready for retirement, in the hopes that people will look past all of the things they think they know and see a dog; just a dog, who wants to love and be loved.

crimsonclad-berta4.jpg

I've watched her learn to smile. I've watched her going through the trials of puppy-hood, but without the happy curiosity: figuring out staircases, being fascinated by mirrors, puzzling out how to knock things off the table to sniff. I've watched her try to figure out why she can see the rain out the window but isn't getting wet. I've watched her start to understand that the things in our house belong to her, too. I've watched her silly saluki ears flapping in the breeze, and stroked her insanely fluffy husky fur. I've watched her struggle with her worn down teeth, from chewing the chain she was secured with for most of her life. I've watched her cry in frustration when her back legs give out, because of the hip dysplasia that's come from pulling too much, too hard, from too young an age. I've watched her progress forward and backslide; crawled carefully along the floor so as not to scare her while she worked on trusting my presence.

I've watched her discover what it's like to feel joy.

 
crimsonclad-berta3.jpg

So that's my little Berta bug. Berta banana. Nana bug, nananoodle, etc. You know how we do that thing where when we're talking to an animal we just stop using words and start making random squealy gobbledygook noises at them? Insert that here. Love is everything. I don't take as many portraits of Bert, because she's not a huge fan of the camera, but when I do I'll share them with you. My shy girl is now glued to me when we leave the house; she trusts me implicitly to take her on adventures and shelter her from harm.

10873514_10152722504356362_6916862527903105144_o.jpg

Someday soon, when I'm ready, I'll introduce you to Goofy. I'll talk more about Murphy, and, if there's interest, I'll talk more about dog sledding and why I feel it's time we ask the industry to work towards meaningful, ethical change driven by love and kindness.

But for now, there's a whole beautiful world out there that needs exploring, and when I'm with her, it's like I'm seeing it for the first time.

 
crimsonclad-berta5.jpg

All of these photos are my own, taken on my travels all over this pretty blue marble of ours. I hope you like them.
crimsonclad.png

Sort:  

As a fellow dog mama, I found this to be especially intense. Thanks for sharing your doggie story. I really felt it. Berta is a true cutie and you are an amazing human.

Have you ever read Dog Years by Mark Doty? It's creative nonfiction, and it is...wrenchingly beautiful. I highly receommend it <3

I'll absolutely look into it, and thank you for the recommendation. I'm still struggling with the loss of my heart dog more than a year ago now, and it hits me in strange ways at inopportune times. All three of the sled dogs who have shared my home, and all of the many transfers and fosters, have all had very different journeys. I'm learning a lot about what it means to be human from them.

hmmm, no, I haven't. Putting it on the list though.

Wow. Just wow.

I have heard countless rescue stories. I read as many as I can. I like to learn from others and I believe animals teach us the most. This.. is just beautiful. I am glad Berta was lucky enough to find you to give her a chance. Thank you for all you do in rescue. I look forward to future articles from you and have to say I would like to hear more on your view of dog sledding. I honestly know nothing about it and am currently doing some research.

Keep doing you. You're certainly doing it right.

I'm sorry my reply is late, I took a bit of a break this long weekend. Thank you so much for taking the time to say this, it means a lot to me, truly. I'm learning as I go and I really don't know what I'm doing most of the time, but I feel my heart pulling me in this direction. <3 Rescue has grown so quickly to take up a large chunk of my life. I truly believe that the way we treat our animals and children is reflective of the best and worst in us as a species, so all we can do in our short time on this earth is the best that we can to make up for others doing their worst.

Dog sledding is not necessarily something I have a problem with, but unfortunately, in terms of competition, means that animals are often treated like tools. I want to see small, ethical mushers lifting the activity up to new heights while providing the best life and care for their dogs. Many mushers will say that is exactly what they are doing, but to me, warehousing dogs on chains in plastic barrels doesn't cut it.

I would recommend the documentary Sled Dogs (I am biased towards it, as my dogs are in it, briefly, full disclosure). This article is spectacular and is a great place to start that considers both sides of the issue, which is important. I don't want to end sledding entirely, but there is a lot of work to do.

I still feel like I don't know what I am doing at times too. It terrifies me as a foster because many times I feel like my mistake is a turning point. It's been for the worse in a lot of cases. But I am trying my best and so we learn from the mistake and move on. I have told all my animals, personal and foster that whatever they go through with me is not in vain and is preparing me for the next that needs my help. I feel like I am always apologizing to them profusely. I do, thankfully, have many success stories as well. So it is working.

I imagine that dog sledding could potentially be a great outlet and very enriching for dogs if they are cared for properly. There are always so many opinions and sadly people honestly do believe that they are doing what is best. Humans are so closed minded that many of us do not wish to consider that change, while threatening and scary, can lead to improvement. I catch myself stuck in that loop from time to time and try to get out of it as soon as I notice.

I will check out the article as well as the documentary. Biased or not it's awesome to see perspectives from all viewpoints to get a good feel for the topic. Plus the fact that your dogs are in it is honestly kind of cool.

this was beautiful Crimmers, thank you for sharing.

She's adorable. Thank you for what you are doing, it warms my heart to see how happy she is with you now.

thank you. It's been hard, and delightful, and easy, and terrible; I have both seen and experienced a bit of compassion fatigue. But it is worth every second! She is a joy.

Welcome to Steemit, @crimsonclad!

Hope you enjoy being here!

This message was written by my introduceyourself bot.

hey Crimson! I love reading your posts lady!! She looks like she's doing pretty well now. I can't imagine. The dysplasia is so scary =( My dad has a lab with it, and somedays it feels like it could go at any moment...guess it makes you appreciate things as they're happening.

quick plug!! My good friend Lily just made her intro post as LadyLunasi, If you have a moment, could you go say hi?? She's an incredible lady, and I want her to meet some of the more wonderful Steemians =) Thanks Crimson!

Look at you, good friend. I'll happily go check out Lily! You guys live my kinda lifestyle, and I'm always looking for people to drop in on when I travel. 😍

As for Bert, I'm going to try out a tensor brace from OrthoDog... I hope she can keep hiking with me and Murphy, even if she stays home from our long runs. They just burn brighter than we do, man.

They just burn brighter than we do, man.

awwww, that's a really delicious way to see it. hmm, I haven't heard anything about braces...I'll have to check it out.

THANKYOU for saying hi to Lily =) I really appreciate it. They are up in NW Pennsylvania, if you're ever in the area, they love visitors, I'm sure you could hit her up. It's a gorgeous little farm... and if you ever find yourself in western Montana let me know!

Sorry it took so long to reply... I took a forest bath for the long weekend and went off the grid. As for visits, it will hopefully happen sooner or later! I have a dream US roadtrip in mind, just waiting for the dollar and the border to settle :)

I'll let you know how the brace goes...I want nana to have a few more years of (flat surface) hiking yet.

hey crimson! please no apologies! I do believe the best possible thing you can do is take really good care of yourself! Screw the internet!! =) It'll be here when you get back, or if it isn't, then maybe we'll all be happier for it anyway.

Do you girls not go on elevated hikes?

I do a lot, but Bert in the last few months has stopped being able to lift her weight with her back legs. So, I have to carry her if the grade is too steep, or if she needs to get over something like a log or tall roots. It makes her very sore.

Since Murphy is young and very active, and I try to be too, the best compromise for everyone is to go on long hikes, but over flat ground most of the time. Some days if she just wants to sleep, then Murph and I will hit the mountains by ourselves :) If I could, that's all I'd do. CLIMB ALL THE THINGS!

hahaha yeah!! That's kind of my MO as well =)

It's so beautiful that you gave her a chance to experience freedom and joy. What a wonderful story!

It's still being written...She is a delight, and I'm trying to make sure that her last couple of years make up for the first dozen. Thanks for saying so 😘

She hurts my heart with love <3

I feel that way too. BUT it's a good hurt... it means your heart is getting bigger so it can hold more 😘

That's a lovely way of looking at it. Aww what a sweet pic. Little devious eyes <3 ... to brighten my day :)

Hi - wow - this post litterally made me cry. I love dogs and each time when i hear that dogs are treated badly I need to cuddle my "Elli"(my wonderful dog) some more and just think that I want to provide her with everthing she needs - And all she really does need is love and to be around me. It is so simple. We can learn a lot from dogs. They are the most wonderful creatures in the world. Keep up the good work!
In fact my plan is to run a dog shelter - or more an animal shelter - and take care of street dogs and lost animal souls in the future - once I have got enough funds to do it. In the meanwhile I love and care about Elli.

AMEN! Truer words never written. Take care of yourself while you take care of others — I wish you so very much success in your dream, but hope that you will also always listen to your gut as you go! Compassion fatigue is real, and important. <3

Wow, that even made my beard cry!

She is a beauty and deserves the loving home she has now.

Bloody brilliant adventure you lot are on!

only happy beard tears :)

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by crimsonclad from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, and someguy123. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you like what we're doing please upvote this comment so we can continue to build the community account that's supporting all members.


Hii @crimsonclad, Nice to Meet U
by #aceh Steemit Community


@muftykutink

Awwwwe I absolutely adore your sweet sweet furbaby! I love that you help to rescue these sweet babies - thank you for your efforts to show these innocent souls the love they all so deserve!

I'm sorry I'm just replying now... I took the pups to the mountains for some relaxing time off the grid!

I appreciate you stopping to say something, it truly means a lot. <3 thank you thank you!

That sounds Awesome! I'm sure they enjoyed that :) Look forward to seeing more! Have a great day :)

BeautifuL StorY !! - ))
.. makes me, VerY HappY for BErTA !! - ))
.. and, for YOU !! - ))

" ... Love is everything." !!!!!!!!! - ))

YeS YeS YeS .. it IS !!! - )))

LOVE is re(aLi)ty ...
RE(aLi)TY .. is ALL .. that is NOT .. illusion ...
SO ILLUSION .. is ALL .. that is NOT .. LOVE !!! - )))

INFINITE NOW ... toMORROW neVer arrives ..
... every DAY .. WE aWAKEn .. it's .. to DAY !! - ))

E)-MO(ti)ON-(S .. OUR personal, G+U+i_DANCE SysteM - ))

.. and, animals >> expecially OUR P(E.T.)S - ))
.. kNOW the secret en-trances, to OUR HeartS - ))

LOVELOVELOVE )))
greb'Z )

sorry it took me so long to get back to you! I went on vacation for the weekend to the middle of the woods... much needed.

YOU'RE EXACTLY RIGHT. Love is reality, and we can choose our realities. Let's choose the best <3

Loading...

Hello, good afternoon, my friend, I would appreciate if you could see my blog and if something catches your eye, your upvote will help me a lot.

This is such a beautiful dog.

thanks for saying so! She is, at best guess, with no lineage but a solid knowledge or popular breeds that are combined into racing alaskan huskies, a saluki mix.

little stinky pretty huskalukiiiiiii <3

Thanks for sharing your words and pictures of Berta, she looks beautiful! Many spend their entire lives trying to train and teach dogs, never realising that the greatest lessons come from the dogs themselves. They teach us so much about our humanity and our connection to the world around us and I feel sorry for those that are only able to see animals as a commodity. Good on you for rescuing Berta with love, for when all is said and done love is the only emotion that has the ability to heal.

everything about this 😍
thank you for stopping to say so.