You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Nadi's health takes a turn for the worse: Bad news from the vets

in #dogs2 years ago

I hope Nadi is okay and can continue to live many more years with you.
If it makes you feel any better… I once had a toy poodle as a child and he swallowed an entire chicken wing. I thought for sure we was dead, but he just kept going on like nothing at all was wrong. I’m not sure if we got lucky or if dogs can swallow bigger things than we imagine.

Sort:  

Nadi has eaten chicken bones in the past. Once she got a hold of an entire 6 pack of buffalo wings and when I got home she had buffalo sauce all over her face and this look of "what, I didn't do anything." We didn't need CSI to get involved to figure out who the guilty party was. How she managed to not get any ill effect from 6 sets of bones is pretty amazing to me. I guess this time it was just bad luck.

I’m not sure if we got lucky or if dogs can swallow bigger things than we imagine.

It has been my experience that dogs are instinctually good at staying alive and can handle a lot more than we think they can. I would imagine if I simply did nothing that Nadi would naturally recover on her own over time but I cant look at her sad face all day as she stares at me with this look of "why aren't you helping me?"