Best thing about dogs!

in #dogs7 years ago (edited)

Dogs are a man's best friend you know...

Not only is dog GOD spelled backward, which honestly I really didn't really fully realize until someone else brought it to my attention not that long ago. Dogs are a man's best friend no matter what continent or planet you are on....

I personally raised four litters of Catahoula pups back in my hometown of Montgomery, Texas back in years of 2008 - 2011. It was one of the many great experiences of my life so far going on 30 years now. I picked up my female in Louisiana second but my male dog first in Alabama shortly after I got out of the United States Marine Corps in 2008.

I loved those dogs... they were leopard colored with blue eyes, I took them hog hunting with me every chance I got. They always loved riding in the bed of my old Doge Ram dually pickup truck, it was a diesel and whistled louder than a choo choo train coming down the tracks. You could hear it a mile away, that thing was a tank and would blow black smoke down every back country road it went! My dogs went everywhere I went most of the time and loved riding in the bed.

Whenever I couldn't afford it, I was forced to leave my best companions at the house couped up in the backyard, which they didn't like very much. When I was gone they would get into my garden and tear up all my cherry tomato and jalapeno pepper plants... I had okra, squash, green beans and a few other things growing and it was really a hastle to have to deal with the construction of a new fence. Fortunately, I got it done after a quick trip to home depot, some financial expenditure and a little sweat equity. Those guys still had plenty of room to roam around by the time I was finished... The lot was a few acres roughly in size and it was a good thing. I came out to California to finish school and had to leave them with the family. Nowdays I can imagine they are back in Texas some where fetching ferral hogs or doing some other kind of productive work. Them dogs were some highly intelligent animals and really knew how to be amans best friend.

Anyone who hasn't looked into Catahoula Cur dogs surely ought to as they are some of the best darn dogs the good Lord put on this planet! Extra Thumbs up if you love Catahoulas!!!

You just never know... when a dog might save your life and if you belive in God... well, you know to consider it already saved by the grace that was sacrificed for myself and thee. I love dogs... as a Marine Corps Veteran, vote yes if you do 2!

Ps... the dogs in the the photo are of some white labs I was walking while finishing up College in California.

Peace,IMG_4266.jpg

Sort:  

Congratulations @johns3101! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @johns3101! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!