Another abandoned dog dropped off at the temple :(

in #dogslast year

It isn't really that uncommon and it probably happened much more than we presumed it did before we started monitoring every single dog at the Tiger Cave Temple. This new addition wasn't actually caught by the monks and was discovered by me.


image.png

The bad news is that she was clearly abandoned by her owners. The good news is that she is extremely young and probably didn't have much of a chance to get overly attached to them. Since she is alone, and dogs are very rarely alone if left to their own devices, I am guessing this was a situation of someone's dog having puppies, the people in the neighborhood oooohing and aaahing at how cute puppies are, and then the owner of the mother dog just gave all the pups away. This is very cruel to the mother and initially, to the pups. What is worse is that in this situation in Thailand, almost always the new owners are not at all up to the task of raising a puppy and they end up leaving it.


image.png

Well, I am not going to let that happen to the dog that I have named "Nong Dang" which means "little red" in Thai. I don't really have space for another dog on my property but I've decided that I am going to look after her since adoptions are very unlikely at this particular point in time. I will first have her sterilized and vaccinated though, and she may not be old enough for both of those yet. We'll need to ask the vet about this.


image.png

I can't imagine what would bring someone to abandon a little cutie like this but that is exactly what has been done. It's ok Nong Dang, we'll look after you.


If you would like to see how you can help out or simply spread the word, please visit our website at

http://krabianimalwelfare.org

21462758_174743779763179_4154543215066704521_n.jpg

Krabi Animal Welfare is a charity run entirely by volunteers and are a registered non-profit organization in Thailand and the U.K.. We aim to relieve the pain and suffering of dogs and cats within Krabi Province.

เป็นผู้สนับสนุนรายเดือนหรือบริจาคครั้งเดียวได้ที่:

http://krabianimalwelfare.org


Sort:  

Awwww... It's good she found a nice home. I'm not much of a cat person, but I love dogs (except for Pitbulls). Luckily, we don't have too many strays here as they are usually adopted out. Our dog Spunky, was unwanted because his coat was black (I had no idea at the time that black-coated dogs were the least preferred), but he had a white stripe down the front and white feet.

He turned out to be the best dog we ever had and I'm so glad we took him in. I hope your dog is happy in his new home! :)

I'm very happy to see that you adopted a dog. we need millions of more people just like you! What part of the world do you live in?