Beef Bone Broth Recipe

in #dogs6 years ago

Hey all you Steem dogs,

Have you ever wondered why your people family doesn't give you any beef bones? It can be really frustrating for us dogs, but it could be because they are saving them in order to make bone broth.

Earlier today, I was waiting patiently while my Dad pigged out on beef ribs. I thought for sure that once he was done, I would get the bones to chew on. So I was on my very best behavior and sat pretty the whole time, and I only begged once!

Anyway, even though I was being such a good dog, and I made the cutest puppy face I could, he didn't give me any bones. I was so mad, I could have pee'd on the floor!!

20181022_233133.jpg

So, what is going on?

Well, I guess Dad is making some bone broth. It looks really easy. This is how he is making it.

He took a small bunch of heirloom carrots, washed, but not peeled, a handfull of celery ends, and two old onions cut in half but not peeled and threw them all into a large crock pot.

He then put in all of the cooked rib bones, plus a few bones he had in the freezer, (also previously cooked), and threw those in. Then, in went some left over sauteed mushrooms, a whole pack of fresh thyme, two bay leaves, and half a cup of apple cider vinegar.

20181022_234547.jpg

Then he filled up the pot with water, and put it on low. That's it. He says that we have to keep that on low for the next 48 hours before we can have any. After it is done, he will seperate any oil off the top, and then strain it all through a fine mess strainer.

Delicious bone broth!! Dad says if there are is any left over broth, he will freeze it in ice cube trays and then put the cubes in freezer bags. Then there is easily measurable bone broth ready to add to any recipes as needed.

Problem is, I don't think I can wait that long!!! I try really hard to be a good puppy, but the smell of broth already is filling up the apartment, and it smells so good. Its only been cooking for four hours, and the smell has me really frustrated. I want bone broth so bad that I chewed into the corner of the wall.

I hope Dad doesn't get too mad at me. I really want to try the broth. I know it will be delicious. Please nobody tell him ok? I dodn't mean to do it.

20181022_235409.jpg

Rocket

Sort:  

The fat is the best part! It's got the flavor-noids ...