You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Coco

in #dogsofsteemit6 years ago

Yes, Von was severely beaten. He is a Dachshund, and they are different. They must be in a pack, and to get them to do what you want, you have to be pack leader. The person that beat him didn't understand this. If he had been decent, the dog would have willingly died for him. But, you can't beat a dachshund into submission.

It took me a week to get him out of the cage when I got him home. He has mellowed some now. I added a blanket to the couch, and he took it over, LOL! Finally acting like a dog.20180713_133426.jpg

Sort:  

Bless his heart, he's had a rough road but the blanket therapy seems to be working.

Is he your only dog? Does he get along with other dogs?

I have two other dachshunds, and one half Chihuahua / Yorkie

Daddie's crowded lap.jpg

Willie, on the left runs the place with an Iron Paw, but welcomes in rescues, since we have had a bunch come through. He and Von have butted heads a couple of times, and Von is twice his size, but he gets out of Willies way now!

Lilly on the right was also a rescue, she came with two sisters. That was our only triple rescue, and I was able to place one of them before we got home. The other needed surgery, so it took a little longer, but we placed her six months later. She is the one in the picture I put on steemit, and her name was Lola!

BUT Lilly was to rotten not to keep, we just love her to pieces! She stole a whole cheeseburger from my wife last week, and just left her trying to figure out what had happened with it, LOL! :)

You get an A+ for allowing a spoiled dog to remain spoiled! They all have a good home.

Good for Willie in asserting his leadership of the household. Having the rules worked out makes it easier for Von to fit in and feel at home.

My two new ones have begun playing with each other again; something I can tell they have done in happier times all their lives because it is more of a dance with set poses and move directions than just random play. They ignore us when the play starts, showing that they are comfortable here and can finally relax. That is a big step, especially for little Coco. It's quite touching to me.

I am pleased you are getting them back! They are cute fur babies! Coco may not hear as well, and that might make it hard for her to understand spoken words. That does NOT make her any the less precious and sweet! :)

Time heals some, but not all. I stood up yesterday, and it startled Von, and he ran and hid for a couple of hours; before he came out again. When he gets scared like that I let him decide to come out, he has had enough force to last a lifetime.

>:(

BTW, you really should post the photo of grandson Merrick and Lincoln dog together nose-to-nose. Include the dogsofsteemit tag.

It is one of the most precious baby/dog photos I have ever seen.

I will do that, I never heard of the dogsofsteemit before. But it sounds fun, LOL!

Both Baby and puppy are precious. That dog was placing himself between Merrick and myself, and I have petted him since he first came home, The little Rat, LOL!

:)

Yes, it is fun. You run into a better class of people when dogs are involved.

I have always (kind of) joked that you could not trust a person who didn't like dogs.

I agree on the dogs as a filter! When we were raising puppies, the people had to pass inspection by Mom and Dad, before they could buy a puppy. I told them that up front, and I refused several sales, based on dog acceptance.

:)

Excellent, and good for you! My dogs have always been a better judge of basic character than I have. If they turn someone down, I know I can't trust the the person, either.

BTW, I'm a Ham, too! First licensed in 1962, now AE4TK.