I'm Glad You Read it, Resteemed it and Followed Me, But Where's My Upvote? Why it Matters Who You Vote For.

As I'm settling back in, I've noticed something. While my views, comments and followers are growing, my upvotes are stuck and I wonder why that is. Well, I think I know, but it could be several things.

Does anyone else remember when they created post promotion?

Back about a year ago, a new feature came out, for those that wanted to invest in bumping their post up, they could promote it. Not everyone thought this was a good idea, in fact, many did not.

They argued that posts that had "earned" the votes belonged at the top of the trending and hot categories, not someone that dropped a few SBDs to buy the slot, but might not have great content. People got mad.

It ended in what you see now, a split feed, with promoted posts shown separately from the others. It effectively cut the legs out from under post promotion as a good tool for audience building and rewards earning. I had no problem with that.

If I can compete on a level playing field, I'll earn my share

Over the past ten years, I've managed to earn my way to the top of many writing platforms online. Am I the best? No, not always, but I'll take my deserved spot with pride. Steemit was no different. Within a few weeks of signing up in summer 2016, I was earning among the top posters, not every time, but my views, comments and follows showed it was earned.

All of this without buying a single vote. I did it through influence, by commenting, following and upvoting others, and adding quality content. I was content with that.

Now, we've devolved into a pay to play platform

If you watch the top tier of any category on the site, the people who consistently end up there are in one of two categories. Either they've invested to the point they can upvote themselves a fortune for every post, or, they fit in category two.

In the second category, we have people who are buying votes, or steem power to earn bigger rewards. I'm a capitalist, so selling your vote should be your right, but here's the thing, I fail to see the difference between promoted posts and vote buying, in fact, promotion was up front and transparent, most don't even realize when they're voting for posts that are high because of vote buying.

Here's why I think it matters

Right now, we're in an epic battle for quality content online. Whether it's the "fake news" claims, or Facebook adjusting the news feed to filter out more spam (while, simultaneously funneling more customers into their ad buying programs, of course) we're tired of the crap. But here, we've got it coming out of our eyes!

If you spend any time reading the content here on the Steemit feeds, you probably agree that the top posts are rarely the best posts. Sure, they've got huge followings, mostly because they are scrambling along behind,picking up curation crumbs as they go.

So, here's what I'd like to ask

Love me, or don't. I'm fine with that. I'll earn my way back to the top, I've been working on it a while now, but, be supportive. If my tips help you, or you like my stories, if you can take the time to comment and follow, and even resteem , then I have earned your upvote. So, where is it?

If, after earning your follow, and high praise, you're not voting for me, where are you voting? Did you even read that one? Or do you just know you can count on pennies a day from that author?

It matters, because the true content creators, the ones that will be producing good quality content on another platform if this one folds tomorrow, are the backbone of this platform. Not the flash in a pan, here for a buck, started a youtube channel to feed their bank account guys that never say anything original, the writers, painters, photographers and videographers that are driven to create are the ones that, over the long haul, will mean the difference between success and failure for the Steem eco-system.

I'm asking for your upvotes

I know, the white paper and FAQ say this is a sin, they also blast vote buying. If you're currently selling all of your steem power to someone else, stop it. Start supporting those of us who will help you when you need it.

Over time, those other investors will likely move on. They'll delegate their power to the next generation when they get bored, until the organic vote is a rare occurrence on this platform, we'll just have machines talking to machines.

So, if it's not me, pick someone. Follow and upvote someone. Support someone and make it a relationship. Choose who you're going to support and stick with them. I'm in the process of renewing my choices on that. Some of the writers that were active when I was here all the time before are gone now, or frankly, don't need my 30 cents. But, once I've figured out who I like, they can count on me. Maybe not for every post, but regularly. I'll upvote them, resteem what I really like and add my two cents in the comments to encourage them. Please, do the same.

Sort:  

Yours is more valuable for me :)

Thanks. I just want everyone to choose content that brings value to them. It doesn't have to be mine,it won't be for everyone.

Thats for sure. That is why just joined here. Even i interest one of the most annoying, underpopulated subject, i know there are people who need to read and get help,opinion from me or someone else. We just can't consume all the time. We should produce also. Nice thoughts, thanks.

Exactly! When we started in 2016, even though our votes were worth nothing, we voted for everything we read and enjoyed. And over time, we built relationships, and our vote became worth something. Now I have favourite authors I read first and upvote. Then have a scroll through my feed to see who else I can support. I never even look at trending.

Yep, that is exactly what I'm talking about. In fact, if a group of ten or twelve was to work to support each other, they could all be quite comfortable, even with the lower price of steem today.

I don't comment on posts as much as I should but I've found authors and creators I do support and search for new quality posters.
We need quality here so we need to support them.

Yep, thanks for the comment!

upvoted and resteemed

I try to do all three, upvote, resteem and comment... I don't always get the same in return but I like sharing and I love reading others posts.

But I hate Clowns!!

Why a Clown?...Why?.....(shivers)

Yeah, clowns are creepy!

Made you look.

true content creators, the ones that will be producing good quality content on another platform if this one folds tomorrow, are the backbone of this platform.

I really agree with this. Its maybe the reason why other steemian is still here. With good content blog, other people still want to open the steemit to read inspirational blogs.
Im also gonna be your supporter.
I like the way you think and this article is an eye opener to us.

Thanks, but, please, support those that add value for you, it does not have to be me, just choose a few.

But i think you are one of those people who we have to value. Your kind of mentality is different among the others.
This is not just about upvotes or resteem or earning. For me,its about how you can help other people through your words.

It is a sad story and a good way of grievance

Upvote me

Are you serious

Lol... no post is safe from spammers! :'D

Well, that's why they're called spammers, right? LOL

Yes of course

Community over all. Thanks for the post.

I think one other thing to mention as a newer Steemian is that it feels like voting power for new and very active users is a big issue. I'm reading and commenting often, and can't vote for everything I like because then my voting power is completely gone.

Following you now, thanks for the great thoughts and post, looking forward to more and hopefully you'll enjoy my content in the future as well.

  • Michael

Yep, I totally get that, but when comments are positive and outweigh votes two to one, there's an issue. Thanks for following, never upvote me unless you mean it, LOL

Haha, I upvoted, and I meant it. There is an issue, and that's one part of it I think. I can comment more than I'm allowed to vote by the system.

Yes, commenting is unlimited, except by time. You can only add one comment every 20 seconds. I type fast, so I' m always running into that and having to wait to add my next comment.

Hahaha, I've had that a few times too.

a very interesting post, if you say like writing in your post I agree
but I will inspect you and follow you but you too so that we help each other or help each other, so that we this steemit can be friends or relatives

do not forget to follow my @asraffarsa page and vote for me so that i also like that

Thanks, I'll follow and keep an eye on your posts for one I enjoy and be sure to upvote you when I see it! Keep it up!

thanks a lot ... for your attention to my post

One reason I'm enjoying this platform is because I've actually built relationships here with authors and artists and philosophers I enjoy. I never had a problem with vote buying myself, but then I started realising most new persons just go to trending and upvote whatever they see there. It's quite sad, but I believe that if the platform prevails, these random voters will slowly filter out (they really can't be enjoying the platform, can they?) and the number of real content curators will increase. As long as the real content creators keep doing their thing and don't get discouraged.

You would think, but here's the thing, this has only increased in the eighteen months since they instituted payouts on the platform, and right now, it's not that hard for even a middle class American to pay their bills from what can be earned here, so the draw is pretty strong. I don't think it will correct itself. I think they need to move posts with paid, or bot votes, to a different category.

I came here for a comment you made on one of mys posts. And i am staying because of this post.

I'll be reading your work with much pleasure, and upvoting it. :)

Thank you for sharing.

You're welcome! Glad you came over. Commenting is a very powerful tool for audience building. At least once a week I try to do a bunch, like fifty or more, on posts I like. I also try to do a few every day in the introductions category to encourage new users.

I hear you. I try to comment al least a couple of hours, every day i can. This platform has so much to offer, if you just take the time to use for, you know, do community stuff. :)

I completely agree with you - and I'm one of those people who has a select group I follow because I enjoy their work and give them the bulk of my upvotes ... and then scroll through my feed looking for other posts that interest me. I only upvote if I like the post, and resteem only if (in my opinion) I feel the post will benefit others. And I've resteemed (and upvoted) your post. :)

Thank you. if even half the users here would do it steemit would change over night.

Very good point @markrmorrisjr! I have just joined the platform, but actually had hard time to find good content/my content of interest, since it often get's really little votes! Hopefully, true content lovers can change that :)

If you look at the site ona computer, you can sort each category by new, hot or trending posts. There is also an option to see more low paying posts, to help you find them.

Thanks @markrmorrisjr, didn't know we could filter by low paying posts :)

@markrmorrisjr I just upvoted your last 5 posts specifically because I resonate with what you are saying and commend you for standing up and saying it!

It matters, because the true content creators, the ones that will be producing good quality content on another platform if this one folds tomorrow, are the backbone of this platform.

This is absolutely the truth. This place will be zip zero nothing if the content does not hold up to the value that we are exchanging with each other.

When I first started on here it was most definitely upsetting to see highly funded posts that were... very sub par.

It's equally dissatisfying to see the truly great and profound posts, largely ignored.

However, it's our job as content creators to shine through the darkness and break through to the top. That's just what a great creator can do - and in my opinion - although we may not have all the money in the world to help us get there, we do have the power of inspiration.

And inspiration is the most influential power you can have.

You my friend, have that power and for that I look forward to following you (as I have), upvoting future posts (as I am), and getting to know you as I comment now.

Thank you and rock on brother!

PS: Today I created an awesome new post about the power of saying "no!". I'd love to hear your thoughts! 3 Inspiring Reasons Why You Should Say "No!" More Often

Thanks for the comment i will check out your post when I'm back at my desktop.

Awesome sounds great @markrmorrisjr. Cheers friend :)

Upvoted

Thanks for your support!

Great post and I absolutely hate the promoted posts and also the people paying for bots. I think that should be banned yet here we are.

Keep preaching @markmorrisjr!


steem-tUp.png