Doodledayeo Round 17 : Mermaid + Plastic + Tangled

in #doodleon6 years ago (edited)

MPT z3 preview.jpg
Mermaid + Plastic + Tangled


Doodle Challenge

Ok I know, I know, I overdid this. :[] Starting out this morning I told myself that this is going to be just like a speed painting. 3 hours later, I'm like, "This ain't gonna be no doodle, dude." But I was enjoying myself. So I decided to make this as a personal painting practice and exploration. @opheliafu has given the words mermaid, plastic, and tangled for the challenge. In the spirit of improving myself in a given working frame, I continue to finish it as a fully rendered painting. My plan was to make a mermaid washed up or dragged by something in a polluted beach, seen from the top view. I saw that most of the entries were campaigning against plastic pollution, depicting mermaid entangled in trash-ridden scenes. Which was very honorable and I should make something of the same theme too. (Goodbye plastic robot in a tangled clash with giant octopus to win the heart of a princess mermaid.)


The Process

MPT-Progress.gif
Gif for the process.

Breakdown of the process:

  • For the first several steps here, I was painting a seashore, fast and in a landscape mode. Although I've painted seasides before, I looked for some references to make sure It would have some realism.

MPT-Breakdown a.jpg

  • These boxes of progress show my development for the main subject, a mermaid. Around the first few steps, I turned the canvas 90 degrees CCW and would go on painting the piece vertically until the end. Some awkward silhouettes and poses before I finally arrived in a decent one. Probably not a good idea to show you guys these horrible drafts, I wince looking at it now, lol.

MPT-Breakdown b.jpg

  • Some small adjustment here and there, particularly for the mermaid and the wet part of the sand. Then I painted some plastic bags and bottles before applying the color effect, to imitate the chemical layer on the surface of the background. I tried to achieve this by randomly painted in different hues to fill the whole image. Then I used the liquify option in Photoshop to get the swirling and oily outcome. I reduced the layer's opacity and let it subtly blend with the ground.

MPT-Breakdown c.jpg

  • In the final four steps, I change her hair color again. Then laid some shadows under the mermaid and plastics. I was not sure the mermaid would be entangled by what exactly. I tried drawing a whole fishing net but it looked so bad and too intrusive, blocking large parts of the already rendered subjects. A good reminder to start with a sketch. Eventually I just draw some thin white strings. Maybe someone threw away a roll of strong fishing line. That would work, right? I put a gradient map option on top of the whole image with 30% opacity and lowered its color saturation, bringing the process to its end.

MPT-Breakdown d.jpg

So that's it, guys. Thank you for the support. See you.

MPT-Final Small.jpg
The final Image.

DQmSMMbAW5yXcJhq1TVFjzQkZQ2cBwKRGrttk9i4wT7GYio.png
Logo designed by @cartoonistpandan and the banner by @orenisme.

Sort:  

We both have that struggle to resist making our doodles into highly detailed pieces. I'm glad that you lost that battle and created this piece that is way beyond a doodle -because it is stunning!

Thanks for dropping by and checking out my post, @opheliafu! I'm glad you like it. I'm waiting for next round and I shall make a doodle next time. :)

Awesome artwork. 😮

Thank you @ruygda. :)

What a beautiful piece, once again you amazed me :O
Well done! Love the oil effect on it :)

I'm flattered.
Guessed this was the closest thing to oil painting I could make. XD
Thank you, @elliebong!

Thank you, Mr. Fasspandan. :D

I like this girl. Especially the breast area 😅

Can't blame our primal instinct. 🙈😊

Damnnn....when you say extra, you really mean extra. Beautiful work, @afique!

Thanks @hanbun!
Although I must say I wish for the ability to get better result with less time and effort. orz

I feel ya. Ironically that will take both time and effort to achieve haha

Couldn't say it better.😂😢

Suppperrrrr drawing! Wonderful explanation and process too. 👌

Thank you. Your art is wonderful too. :)

wow u r so artistic bro.. damn nice! hope u win the contest.. :)

My thanks, Mr. @rz19! ;)