You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Some thoughts on downvotes for adjustment of rewards

in #downvoteslast year

Acid,

Thank you for writing this post. I do not write that much, mainly because of limited time, but I spent inordinate amount of time on hive reading and observing behaviors. After five years of doing this I can intuitively catch who is farming and who is not. What is AI, modified AI, template writing modified with AI; rather easily. Most of the time, against popular knowledge on the chain about me, I actually do not act. I think about it a lot before I make it visible to others, like the example you have here.

So when I do, it is highly likely that the authors intentions are not favorable for the community and only directed at self-interest. I typically take a lot of heat of some of this. But I think I have proven that I do not have any financial interest from any of this work. I am financially free. I want this chain to succeed, and if it does, I will be financially rewarded. That is my prize.

There is currently an extreme amount of reward pool hive farming going on using leo.voter. I have expressed my concerns multiple times to leo curators, very recently to large leo stakeholder. The farming involves not only leo (which in terms of price is inferior to hive currently), but more importantly hive, which is why I am bringing this up over and over again. I do not want to write a post about the drawbacks of leo.voter curation, and stir up the drama. I humbly request curators of leo.voters to watch what they are voting. There are people posting on leofinance on

My Hive Goals - Weekly progress report

Splinterlands - My Weekly SPS goals

My earnings from Splinterlands

Hive Power Up day and My Monthly Hive Report

My Publish0x stats - Monthly report

Titles like this, with no engagement. Each post with $20- $40 in hive rewards, who know how much in Leo rewards. Please please don't make the community downvote these, is my request to author and please please don't vote these with $10 of leo.voter vote will be my request to the curators.

Sort:  

Yeah most of the time the issue lies with the upvoters, it's like they have no frame of judgement of what constitutes good rewards and the factors one should take into account before placing the big votes. Unfortunately a lot of big accounts do this and one of their main defenses is "oh it's just $20/$40, who cares" while the value doesn't matter much it's a lot of stake that could be going to a lot of other more deserving accounts.

If people have issues depleting their voting power in a fair basis there's plenty of other ways to use it that's a net positive for Hive, for example hbd.funder comments. You shouldn't thereby use the excuse that "oh we just didn't find enough good posts to curate that day so we voted these few accounts with huge votes" while there are plenty of posts that go unnoticed and unrewarded, some I've been stumbling upon accidentally too in their big community. Not gonna get into the whole why huge communities with a ton of "whatever posts as long as it's somehow finance related" are often a bad idea and make the life of curators & engagement/attention thus retention hard as in this case it's most likely rogue curators being tipped off to upvote certain alt accounts for whatever reason. This isn't something that only affects leo.voter and I wish I could say with 100% certainty that it doesn't happen in OCD but I can't cause it's hard to spot them and some may be better at hiding that fact than others, but the way leo's been using their voting power has seemed like it's more than just negligence unfortunately.