You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: About embracing Downvotes | Something that should be Normalized on Hive

in #downvotes4 years ago

I plan on focusing on curating content on Hive. Curation is a mixture of upvoting and downvoting. I will be making more comments in the coming days (and a blog post) to outline my views and my downvote policy, but I've been saying this a lot lately.

We go to social places and social media pages to engage with content and information about things that interest us.

Reddit, Instagram, or Imgur would not be interesting places if all I saw on their front pages were statistics about how many posts were published, how many active users there were, how many new accounts were created, or fifteen different people shouting at me about the fact that some new feature was added a day ago.

I want to see a Hive front page where the most rewarded pages are content, and not content about the platform.

Witnesses and Devs have the DAO / Proposal system / Witness rewards to fund their endeavours.

Content creators have the rewards pool. By planning on down voting content about the platform that isn't content, I'll be supporting every other post on the chain a tiny bit.

I anticipate I'll receive a few "revenge flags", but I'm prepared to be stoic, and stand by my ideals that content creators should be rewarded in a proportionate manner compared to devs, witnesses, and those who write about the platform, who as we saw on Steem, took the majority of the rewards pool, which contributes to the exodus of genuine content creators from the platform, as there is not a return on investment for their labours.