You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The broken downvote system

in #downvotes3 years ago

I'm not sure I'm following? I'm saying the same thing in the post.

You are saying the same because I quoted you. I quoted you so that I can

  • point out the general manipulative technique of putting a controversial statement in a sandwich made of two obvious truths and
  • narrow down the conversation to the core (can you get demonetised on Hive?)

There's a big difference to me: If it's 1000s of people downvoting, it's likely you're doing something seriously wrong and deserve to be demonitised. If it's just 1 or 2 wiping out your account, then there's a chance it's just subjective.

I fully agree with that. There is a catch (as always). Statistically you need thousand people to disagree with your modus operandi to get two downvotes. Average user is not going to paint a target on their back with a DV. You need a considerable stake in a token that is involved to even consider defending its distribution.

The fact that any "fix" needs to deal with one person being allowed to hold thousand accounts is both secondary and well-known.

I'm arguing that @PlayDice should be allowed (in any language)

You are arguing at an empty hall. Of course it is allowed. So is downvoting it. You can get money for posting, you can get money for curating. If you exercise poor judgement (in what the community is going to accept/appreciate) you can earn zero (for either).

You are still better off than the account downvoting you. They are not going to earn tokens whatever happens.

Besides if I wrote the game in my native Afrikaans, then I doubt there would be too many people playing it

This is the only part I really disagree with. The marketing will be different but you can totally tell your patrons to check out so-and-so alt account. The very essence of the operation is to upvote posts with no content (beyond the randomisation of awards in order not to be a super obvious kickback scheme) so the language does not matter. You will run for quite a while before your opposition picks it up. Not saying Afrikaans is the best choice (neither extreme is). Just saying minor languages work better (that is being proved in practice).