You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Some thoughts on downvotes for adjustment of rewards

in #downvoteslast year

Engagement should always come first. Churning out new posts without engaging on the previous ones and/or on other people´s posts is the epitome of selfishness and ignorance. It´s particularly sad and pathetic when these posts with ghost town like comment sections appear on the trending page. Fortunately, it doesn´t happen very often here...

Sort:  

Yeah only exception I can think of is if the influencer is really big and practically doesn't have time to do so, but in that case they'd have to provide value in other ways than just cross-posting content onto Hive if they're getting a lot of rewards here. Such as promoting/mentioning their existence here in other places now and then.

Right. In fact, I brought one account like this to Hive. A friend of mine and his wife have been running this account where they share ideas and tutorials for crafts for kids and their parents. They have more than 2.5 million followers just on Facebook alone and hundreds of thousands on other social media so I was really excited that they joined Hive. I spent long hours explaining everything to them back then but after a few months of posting, they stopped being active here :( I asked them a few times if they were coming back and they always said yes but they haven´t really done that yet and I don´t want to push it too hard. Pity. The potential of introducing Hive to masses of Web 2 users was really huge there. Big influencers are busy keeping their businesses running I guess. Seems like we will have to get Hive on the Moon by ourselves :)

Step by step I guess, but any new user no matter influential size is a win for stake distribution and security of the network and who knows if they may turn into another @theycallmedan or bring in a lot of users over time who may bring in users themselves, etc. We're seeing some impressive onboarding with our program and looking forward to see how it evolves and scales.

Yeah, I know. And not just the programs, we have individuals here who have already managed to onboard dozens of people on Hive. Especially certain folks in the Filipino, Venezuelan and Vietnamese communities have been putting on some truly outstanding onboarding efforts, I´m sure you know some them... On the other hand, retention has proved to be just as important. I can see that myself. Over the years, I have brought some 10 - 15 people here but unfortunately, most of them are not active anymore. That´s why I now mostly focus on bringing people here who actually have the preconditions for staying...