You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Should Speed Limiting Technology be mandatory for all cars?

in #dpoll5 years ago

Voted for

  • No: Speed Limiting tech will make drivers more reckless and an overreach by the Government

It seems to me that such a system would be more of a distraction, especially to begin with, and that it might actually cause the driver to do things they wouldn't normally do, like take their eyes off the road to attend to the warning.

I don't know. I understand the desire behind it, but as long as their are humans at the control, there is room for human error. Thus the push to autonomous driving vehicles, which I'm not really all that keen on either.

I think everyone needs to be responsible and accountable for their driving. There's more behind this than just reduction of death, injuries and property damage. There are dollars affixed, and too many times, those are what drive these kinds of initiatives, and where the government might not be involved, insurance companies will be, and I'm sure they would love to have mandatory insurance along with no claims. :)