Do you think HF21 will backfire? And if so, in what way.

in #dpoll5 years ago

Do you think HF21 will backfire? And if so, in what way.


In this post, seven possible ways are described how the upcoming hard-fork could potentially backfire. Do you believe that HF21 is going to backfire? And if you believe it will, in what ways?


  • No, not in any of these ways or any other ways.

  • Yes, but not in any of these ways (comment)

  • Yes, by killing social interaction

  • Yes, by hindering onboarding and driving away smaller fish

  • Yes, by creating a flourishing bid-bot economy

  • Yes, by pushing passive stake holders to sell their stake

  • Yes, by escalating flag wars

  • Yes, by shifting bad behaviour up-curve

  • Yes, by not adressing inflation

  • Other (comment)

Answer the question at dpoll.xyz.

Sort:  

Voted for

  • Yes, by killing social interaction
  • Yes, by hindering onboarding and driving away smaller fish
  • Yes, by creating a flourishing bid-bot economy
  • Yes, by shifting bad behaviour up-curve
  • Yes, by not adressing inflation

Voted for

  • Yes, by escalating flag wars

Voted for

  • Yes, by escalating flag wars
  • Yes, by not adressing inflation
  • Other (comment)

Complicated. What do you mean with "Yes, by not adressing inflation"?

Meh.
I'm more concerned with the emergency next fork, how much worse can it get.

It's been downhill since hf16.

Thanks for contributing to the dPoll content.

You have been upvoted from our community curation account (@dpoll.curation) in courtesy of This Guy... @bluerobo.

Come, join our community at dPoll discord server.


If you want to support dPoll curation, you can also delegate some steem power. Quick steem connect links to delegate:
50SP | 100SP | 250SP | 500SP

Voted for

  • Yes, by killing social interaction
  • Yes, by hindering onboarding and driving away smaller fish
  • Yes, by creating a flourishing bid-bot economy
  • Yes, by pushing passive stake holders to sell their stake
  • Yes, by escalating flag wars
  • Yes, by shifting bad behaviour up-curve

Voted for

  • Yes, but not in any of these ways (comment)
  • Yes, by escalating flag wars

Flag wars won't get that escalated. But the incentive to create more content won't work well. Those o already have a large following will do well. DAPPs with voting bots like @steemhunt or even @dlike will do fine. But real long form content will reduce in frequency.

Voted for

  • Yes, by hindering onboarding and driving away smaller fish
  • Yes, by creating a flourishing bid-bot economy
  • Yes, by pushing passive stake holders to sell their stake
  • Yes, by escalating flag wars

Voted for

  • Yes, by hindering onboarding and driving away smaller fish
  • Yes, by creating a flourishing bid-bot economy
  • Yes, by escalating flag wars
  • Yes, by shifting bad behaviour up-curve

Voted for

  • Other (comment)

I do not understand this enough to know what will happen.

Voted for

  • Yes, by pushing passive stake holders to sell their stake
  • Yes, by escalating flag wars
  • Yes, by shifting bad behaviour up-curve

Voted for

  • Yes, but not in any of these ways (comment)

I guess people will make less content. I certainly don't feel like making more content ad I had already stopped long articles because I couldn't get much traction even after using bots. Now I stick with STEEM Hunt for most part.

Voted for

  • Yes, by hindering onboarding and driving away smaller fish
  • Yes, by creating a flourishing bid-bot economy
  • Yes, by escalating flag wars
  • Yes, by shifting bad behaviour up-curve

At this point, we're waiting to see when the HF is going to happen, and then, to see what the immediate and long term effects will be.

The EIP hinges on those who have yet to demonstrate an ongoing desire to curate, but rather extract as much passive income as possible, to do an about face. I don't know. It's difficult to believe that people who need some sort of economic incentive to do what they could be doing (and arguably should be doing) all along will suddenly do something different, when really, for all the talk, I don't know that there's enough incentive even in the EIP to do so. It comes down to a matter of time and application. Passive income versus actively doing something for it.

So, even without the detriments I've voted for, there's high potential for no real change because human behavior is hard to overcome.

Voted for

  • No, not in any of these ways or any other ways.

I don't think that HF21 would backfire in any way. Certainly not by "killing social interaction".
Nowadays there is little to no social interaction on Steem. In fact, I believe that HF21 will be good for Steem.
How and why?
I am on the Steem blockchain since 2017.05.17.
No matter what I do, what I post, what I write about, almost (or literally) no one cares about my posts. I am earning cents (or even nothing) with my posts, because sometimes the pending payout is not reach the payout threshold ($0.02).
The real, human comments are also rare.
Nowadays I don't even use Steemit for blogging.
People are selfish and greedy.
Many people are writing blog posts, but only a few people cares about other people's blog posts.
This results in hundreds of thousands of ignored (or simply not seen) posts, and in the same amount of disappointed users.
Many people left (and still leaving) the Steem blockchain because of their disappointment in the platform.
Nowadays there are more than 1.2 million Steem accounts, but nowadays only less than 50 000 accounts are active daily.
I think that these numbers are telling a lot about the current state of the Steem blockchain.
Maybe the HF21 will help decreasing the number of bloggers (and/or the number of content creators in general), and increase the number of curators and maybe the real, human interaction with it.
If this will happen, then HF21 will be good for Steem.
We (the the users and the community of the whole Steem blockchain) need to find a good balance between content creators and content curators, otherwise this platform will wither and die.

Flagged because of your first false statement.

Nowadays there is little to no social interaction on Steem.

You seem to be using steemit for blogging and interacting with me now????
I see tons of people commenting more than ever & hardly any of them are the robots!

I don't use Steemit for blogging.
Only for upvoting posts and comments, and for writing/editing comments.
That statement is not false. Or at least not under my and many other people's blog posts.
I wrote that statement based on my personal experience.
If I post a blog post with Steemit or Busy (or basically with any other dApp), the real, human comments are rare. And I am not alone.
I mostly use dPoll, where there is interaction. But only there.
The real, human interaction is rare under blog posts posted with Steemit, Busy or with any other dApp.
Your statement that my statement is false is false, so you flagged me without any valid reason.

You are blogging right now, maybe the reason you don't get that many "real" comments is because you only use steemit for writing and editing comments and not blogging. That would cut down on your exposure. I got upvoted by the author, whom is a genius for flagging that comment, so don't e\v/en try!
But then again he did upvote your comment so there is some truth to what you are saying. I did what I did and not going back on that one! Thanks!
P.S. Sure looks like you do do a lot of blogging from steemit. I just upvoted your last post to make up for it!
Screen Shot 2019-06-24 at 7.36.13 AM.png

Those posts are visible from Steemit, but I did not posted them from Steemit.
I posted those posts with dPoll, which is a poll dApp on the Steem blockchain.
By the way, thank you for the upvote!

Yeah I realized that right after I finished my last comment! I was debating myself whether I was being too harsh or not! You're welcome!

WARNING: IF YOU REPLY TO THIS ACCOUNT YOU WILL BE FLAGGED, YOUR REP WILL BE HARMED AND ALL OF YOUR REWARDS WILL BE REMOVED.

Voted for

  • Yes, by killing social interaction
  • Yes, by hindering onboarding and driving away smaller fish
  • Yes, by creating a flourishing bid-bot economy
  • Yes, by pushing passive stake holders to sell their stake
  • Yes, by escalating flag wars
  • Yes, by shifting bad behaviour up-curve
  • Yes, by not adressing inflation

Voted for

  • Yes, by killing social interaction
  • Yes, by hindering onboarding and driving away smaller fish
  • Yes, by creating a flourishing bid-bot economy
  • Yes, by escalating flag wars
  • Yes, by shifting bad behaviour up-curve