You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Downvotes... are they a good thing for #steem or not?

in #dpoll4 years ago

Voted for

I did not like the idea of ​​voting freely in the negative, less when it can be done without having to give any comments that could explain what we dislike and give the author the opportunity to discuss or even correct the port.

When there is at least one comment that explains it can be assumed that it is not a systematic attempt to harm anyone, but when the votes come from accounts that only cast negative votes and do not publish anything, they can no longer be given the "benefit of the doubt"

I would like an option to be included in the future, whether it is voted only positive or only negative, but nothing is ever published, as the account is suspected of being a bot account; that when you only cast negative votes, you have to write for each case, so that it is explained what motivates you to vote negative a certain post; I think that in any case there may be users who will take it as something personal (which I do not deny that it can happen), but at least we will have some discussion and better possibilities to learn and grow than simply having bot accounts giving negative votes.

Sort:  

Hello @pedrobrito2004,

thanks for your comment and vote!

I agree 100%!

In the case of @mmmmkkkk311 it's clear why he spreads his downvotes. In his words from his profile "Vote trading circles are worse than bidbots, downvoting posts upvoted by SBI farm, upvotebuilders etc ...".

Well, I'm definitely "guilty" of that ;-) I've been enrolled in SBI for quite some time now. I still think SBI is a nice idea to share some longer lasting appreciation to fellow steemians, I've enrolled hundreds of steemians, with some benefit for the person that enrolls too. I've also delegated some SP to the program because I like the project.

After receiving the downvotes from the "downvotecontrol" guy I've again critically looked at SBI but there's no abuse I can identify with SBI.

So, maybe I/we just have to agree to disagree with this "SBI hater" and his supporters. I think this kind of mo is questionable at least and I don't like this kind of "policing" the content and comments of others.

I've come to understand that there are certain things that should be flagged like spam and plagiarism and this kind of content hygiene is pretty effectively done by @steemitcleaners.

But to force anyone's opinion onto others with downvotes is questionable to say the least. I came to the conclusion that the free downvotes and maybe downvotes in general introduce a kind of toxicity into the otherwise wonderful #steem blockchain. I wanted to get a feeling for how others think about this hence the poll.

Cheers!
Lucky