You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Dpoll 40: Who should pay for repairing the roads?

in #dpoll4 years ago (edited)

Where I live, there aren't any roads for bicycles only. And a) since the bicycles aren't really damaging the road and b) bicycles are more of an option for poor people than cars are and c) bicycles are more eco-friendly, it behooves society to encourage more bicycle riding.
I don't know what you mean by stoops - here a stoop is like, the stairs or landing in front of an apartment.
Most disabled people who could use one can't afford the fancy cars and rely on public transport; if they are rich enough to afford the fancy expensive car, then they can afford the taxes that go with owning a car. I've never owned a car - in the US, where it super sucks to not own one because everything is built for one - because I can't afford it. At one point I was trying to save for one and friends didn't understand why I didn't just take my savings and use it as a downpayment rather than save the full amount, which is what I was trying to do. I said it's because I can't afford a payment plus gas plus insurance plus registration and license and whatnot plus any repairs that might crop up plus tax ...because I understood the costs of owning a car. It's part and partial to the privilege. As a pedestrian, not only do I not wear down the roads the way a car does, but they're not even built for me - I am shunted off to the side at best, walking on unsafe landscaping or in with six lanes of traffic moving at 40mph because there is literally no sidewalk at other times, cut off by construction when there is a detour for cars but not for pedestrians so I have to add a mile circling around, nearly getting run over by cars when I have the crossing signal because they don't look for pedestrians, etc. If they made roads for pedestrians, I'd be happy to put my road wear penny in the pot, but as it is they aren't built for us at all, at least not where I live. And that goes for bicyclists, too - not built for them, either, and the motorists seem to think they shouldn't be allowed to exist on the roads at all and sometimes purposefully do things to scare or hurt them because they resent not being able to speed!

Sort:  

Stoops are roads for pedestrians and next to it we have roads for bikes through the whole country.
After reading all these answers I think it is a society thing. We all should pay for everything. Even.if you do not own or drive a car you use services that might use a car. The ambulance, the garbage taken away, a parcel you order online and delivered on your doorstep, etc.

I hooe to be carless one day or perhaps sharing with someone. I know in the cities these options are there. If you only drive a few times a year the costs for a car are too high.

At the time I had no car I could take the train or a cap, afgord the high prices but not these days.

Thank you for your vote.
!trdo and a great Sunday 💕