Dracula - the novel - brought up to date – Episode 5

in #dracula7 years ago (edited)

I read the novel Dracula years ago. I struggled to read it at first because of the language – not that English isn’t my first language, it is, but this book was written so long ago and our language has changed and evolved so much that it’s getting difficult to understand easily. Because of that, I decided to take Dracula and edit it to fit in better with modern-day language.

Here’s the project I set myself then. I hope you enjoy it… it’s taken quite a while.

Pictures from Google Images - licenced for re-use

Licence

DRACULA

by

Bram Stoker

NEW YORK

GROSSET & DUNLAP

Publishers

Copyright, 1897, in the United States of America, according to Act of Congress, by Bram Stoker

[All rights reserved.]

TO MY DEAR FRIEND HOMMY-BEG

Continued...

CHAPTER II

JONATHAN HARKER'S JOURNAL - continued

5 May.

I must have been asleep; if I had been fully awake I would have noticed as we approached such a remarkable place. In the gloom, the courtyard looked large enough, and as several dark passages led from it under impressive arches, it perhaps seemed bigger than it really is. I haven’t been able to see it by daylight.

When the carriage stopped, the driver jumped down and held out his hand to help me down. Again I noticed his strength. His hand seemed like it could have crushed mine if he wanted. He took out my luggage, and placed it on the ground. I stood close to an immense door, old and studded with large iron nails, set in a doorway of stone. I could see even in the dim light that the stone was carved, but the carving had been worn by time and weather.

As I stood, the driver jumped into his seat and shook the reins; the horses started forward, and the carriage disappeared down one of the dark openings.

I stood in silence; I didn’t know what to do. There was no sign of bell or knocker and it wasn’t likely my voice could penetrate these walls. I waited an age, and I felt doubts and fears crowding upon me. What sort of place had I come to, and among what kind of people?

What sort of grim adventure had I embarked upon? Was this a usual event in the life of a solicitor's clerk sent out to explain the purchase of a London estate to a foreigner?

Solicitor's clerk! Mina would not like that. Solicitor - just before leaving London I got word that I had passed my examination. I am now a full-blown solicitor!

I rubbed my eyes and pinched myself to see if I was awake. It all seemed like a horrible nightmare, and I expected to suddenly awake, and find myself at home. Sluggish and weary, scratchy eyes and a dull headache as I had now and again felt in the morning after a day of overwork.

But my flesh answered the pinching test, and my eyes were not to be deceived. I was awake and among the Carpathians. All I could do was to be patient, and to wait the coming of the morning.

Just as I had come to this conclusion, I heard a heavy step approaching behind the old scarred wood of the door, and saw the gleam of a light. There was the sound of rattling chains and the clanking of massive bolts drawn back. A key was turned with the loud grating noise of long disuse, and the great door swung back.

I was greeted by a tall old man, clean shaven except for a long white moustache, and dressed in black from head to foot. He held an antique silver lamp, that threw long quivering shadows as it flickered in the draught of the open door. The old man motioned me in with a gesture, saying in excellent English, but with a strange accent, "Welcome to my house! Enter freely and of your own will!"

He made no move forward to meet me, but stood like a statue, as though his gesture of welcome had turned him into stone. The instant I stepped over the threshold, he moved forward, and holding out his hand, grasped mine with a strength which made me wince. The hand that grasped mine was as cold as ice - more like the hand of a dead than a living man.

Again, he said, "Welcome to my house. Come freely. Go safely; and leave something of the happiness you bring!"

The strength of the handshake was so like that which I had noticed in the driver, whose face I had not seen, that for a moment I doubted if it were not the same person. To make sure, I said, "Count Dracula?"

He bowed in a courtly way as he replied,

"I am Dracula; and I bid you welcome, Mr. Harker, to my house. Come in; the night air is chill, and you must need to eat and rest."

As he was speaking, he put the lamp on a bracket on the wall, and stepping out, took my luggage. He had carried it in before I could stop him. I protested but he insisted.

"Nay, sir, you are my guest. It is late, and my people are not available. Let me see to your comfort myself."

He insisted on carrying my luggage. He led me along the passage, and then up a great winding staircase, and along another passage. Our steps rang heavily on the stone floor.

At the end of the passage, he opened a heavy door, and I sighed in relief to see a well-lit room and a table spread for supper. The hearth housed a fire of logs which threw out a cheerful warmth to my tired, cold bones.

The Count put down my bags, closed the door, and crossed the room. He opened another door which led into a small, octagonal and windowless room lit by a single lamp. Passing through this, he opened another door, and beckoned me to follow. It was a welcome sight; a bedroom well lighted and warmed with another log fire; the top logs were fresh - and sent a hollow roar up the wide chimney.

The Count left my luggage inside and withdrew, saying, before he closed the door, "You will need, after your journey, to refresh yourself. I trust you will find all you wish. When you are ready, come into the other room, where you will find your supper prepared."

The light and warmth and the Count's courteous welcome dissipated all my doubts and fears. I realised that I was half-starved, so splashing my face with water, I went into the other room.

Sort:  

upvoted resteemed

Thank you. I appreciate it.

Hi what a great idea to update the old Dracula story. This is absolutely awesome I love the story and the pictures you get a big Upvote from me can't wait for the next chapter

Thank you. I read Dracula a few years ago and it was a chore. It's a timeless story, as recent revivals of the vampire legend shows. (Lost Boys is 30 years old but still one of my favourites).

This is so much easier to read than the original. Things have changed much in just over 100 years.

That's exactly how my thought-process went too.

Hi! I am a robot. I just upvoted you! I found similar content that readers might be interested in:
http://www.pagebypagebooks.com/Bram_Stoker/Dracula/CHAPTER_2_p2.html

Loading...