Dragon Art Contest-35SBD Prize Pool

in #dragonartcontest7 years ago (edited)

contest A.jpg

Welcome to the 1st Dragon Art Contest I hope you enjoy it!

To get to know each other better (and a small tribute to the new season of the famous dragons) our first theme is "Your Pet Dragon."

This contest it will last a total of 3 weeks, so more people have time to find out and enter. However, the voting begins after week 2 (in a new post). Exact time of finish : 8th August 3PM GMT time.

separator2.jpg

The prizes

1st place: My choice- 15 SBD
2nd place: Popular vote-15 SBD
3rd place: Random choice-5 SBD

separator2.jpg

To qualify

You must upvote and resteem this post.
The arwork has to be 100% yours, if you steal, you will be disqualified.
No fan art this time.
The dragon must have a name.
If you create a post use #dragoncontest tag

You can use any visual medium to create your dragon (digital, traditional, clay, pixel art etc.).
You should consider how the dragon's personality matches yours.

separator2.jpg

I will choose the 1st based on design idea, execution and effort. You should create a more detailed post about you dragon.
You must share at least 1 WIP (work in progress) picture.

2nd place is only based on popular vote in the week 3 (manual voting, no bot votes).

3rd place is a random pick by a generator so everyone has a chance to win.

For the 3rd prize you can also post non visual art like poems, but stick to the theme.

You can still enter during week 3 and qualify, but you will be at disadvantage for popular vote.
You can create and post more than one dragon. All of your works will be considered as 1 bigger entry.

If you do photo manipulation you must use your own photos or public domain.
Edit: You have to share links where you took the images.

separator2.jpg

Any donations to this or the next prize pool are highly appreciated. Please upvote and follow the artists you like to show them support.

I encourage you to socialize and interact in the comments. Share ideas, as for feedback, make some new friends and gain new followers.

I hope with the 3 posts we can finance the next contest(s).
Would you still join even if there is no money prize or only a small one?

Even if you're not participating, but like idea and dragons, please upvote and share to support the contest and entrants.

Thank you for reading and joining!

Update: you can see the collection of all of the amazing entries here: https://steemit.com/dragonartcontest/@kristyglas/dragon-art-contest-progress-35sbd-prize-pool

separator2.jpg

Sort:  
There are 2 pages
Pages

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by kristyglas from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, and someguy123. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you like what we're doing please upvote this comment so we can continue to build the community account that's supporting all members.

My work in progress

20479720_10213483271786920_7706676841380013607_n.jpg

Awesome, looking forward to the finished dragon :D

Hi, I've made an entry for your contest along with some poetry to highlight the characteristics and personality of my dragon whom I have called LOVE. I hope you like it and are inspired by him/her. Lots of luck to everyone!!!!https://steemit.com/art/@sourcebird/the-dragon-of-love-dragoncontest-kristyglas

Beautiful and very unique ^ ^
My favorite lines from your poem are:
"You my love have slayed the beast
and taken my coil and given it wings"

......to fly to you.....Thanks for your interest, thoughts and kind words, I'm really happy that you liked it!!!

Interesting contest, i like the idea 😃 I know nothing about drawing dragons though 😅😂 Well whatever good luck with the contest, i might still join if i get time ☺

Thank you! I really hope you try it :D There is a lot of time, feel free to share some of sneak peeks ^^

Hey one more thing, when you say "your pet dragon" do you mean that it has to resemble us somehow or is it just any type of dragon design we would want to have as a pet?

A pet that you would like to have :)
And by personality I mean, cute/fierce, funny/serious features and specific art style^^ Usually our art styles reflects our personality, preferences and moods.

Okay i see, thanks ☺


IMG_20170722_144453_352.jpg


Here's my very simple and tiny entry for @kristyglas Dragon Art Contest. It's a super mini dragon! He's very powerful, don't underestimate him because of his size. He will fly into the enemies ears and damage them from the inside. Stealth mode. Much like me. Just quiet but I'm really destructive (jk, my art is, could be, not sure, be the judge). Cheer for my pet Millimetre.

POST LINK HERE

This is actually a WIP. He will show off his skills as a ninja too and I could borrow a micro lens to get a closer shot.

Update: This dragon has been spotted showing off one of his ninja skills: Click Here!

Very cute ^-^

Thanks!!!

omg! That is so tiny! Will upvote later when I have more power.

Thank you so much. :D

An entry https://steemit.com/dragoncontest/@cryplectibles/crypto-collectibles-presents-jordan-the-dragon

Please be kind this is like the sixth dragon I've drawn in my life lol. I liked the pencils more than the end but I feel that way about most art by any artist, always enjoy the pencils.

Love your comment! And if it's a pencil... that's my favorite material for sketching and drawing.

Thank you for entering :D upvoted and resteemed. Your pencil sketches are very skilled. Would you like to add a preview picture here or should I? ^^

Edited and added :)

He is a cute dragon. But why dont you give the poor guy some reading glasses?👓🐉☺

Woah woah woah, Jordan is a dragon, not a "he" or a "poor guy", Jordan only identifies as a dragon. Now as far as it's vision, I think you have a point and I may have to reevaluate and include some glasses.

Very cute :D Definitely share here one of the top hat ones too!

pretty adorable, plus purple just happens to be my favourite colour!

Hi! I made my pet dragon and entry about it :) https://steemit.com/dragoncontest/@anastasiabusko/my-dragon-for-dragoncontest

Thank you for the contest!

Thank you for your entry :D
Lotta is very cute and I love the way you use watercolors. The change from light to dark. And the calm personality is well expressed ^^
Also thank you for sharing the process!

Thank you for kind words! Lotta is very pleased :)

Very cute and colourful @anastasiabusko! Great entry! Good luck my friend! :)

Thank you! :)

This is my first entry (I hope drawing more).
It's the first dragon that I drew in my entire life. I hope you like it!
Her name is Plushy!
https://steemit.com/dragoncontest/@fole/dragon-art-contest-1st-entry-plushy-el-dragon
dragon1.jpg

:[) Wee baby dragon!! :[) Very nice @fole! Good luck to you!

Hope you're having a pleasant day! :)

Thank you so much! :D

Thank you for joining! Plushy looks so huggable, very fitting name :3

Thank you! :D

Hello all, hey @kristyglas
Here is my entry for the dragon contest:

His name is Bubbles and you can find out more about him here:
https://steemit.com/dragoncontest/@zneeke/bubbles-my-dragon-for-dragon-art-contest#@kristyglas/re-zneeke-bubbles-my-dragon-for-dragon-art-contest-20170724t010646980z

Very cute! :D
Nice process and descriptive post.

Thank you :)
I did my best to try and explain my process.

Hello @kristyglas! This is my final drawing.

20170720_060243.jpg

Much better photo cropping thank you for entering :D

Hi, @kristyglas! I made one more illustration about my dragon :) https://steemit.com/dragoncontest/@anastasiabusko/one-more-dragoncontest-entry

I would be very glad if you'll check out it :)

Really cool :D
Tomorrow is voting and I will add it to the compilation of your dragon entries ^^

Thank you! :)

Meet my Pet Dragon : Steemy :)

I said I will try.....
dragoncompl.jpg

Here is my Work in Progress

dragonstart.JPG
Me trying to look all artsy...gotta start somewhere right?

dragonfacestart.JPG
dragonface.JPG
dragonbodystart.JPG

I made a post too: Meet Steemy the Dragon :) | My Attempted Drawing....

Thank you for entering :D
Steemy is really lovely! (and your husband's sketch really caught me by surprise) xD

An excellent entry @the-housewife! Thanks for including the process also! :)

Upvoted, but can't resteem. My entry, my first participation, named BeeDragon, the dragon looks like a Bee so the name. :

Very cute, thank you for participating ^^
I added it to the voting post, and just resteem that one instead of original: https://steemit.com/dragonartcontest/@kristyglas/dragon-art-contest-voting-week-pick-your-winner
Good luck!

Done, I m going to sleep, gn. Else Papa will start shouting.


Nemocas.png
Nemocas1.png

Screenshot 2017-07-19 18.12.26.png


Nemocas

A dragon of the old worlds before both Chaos and Order. Her heart was forged in the first dead sun of the Elmick Era. Given life by the void itself, she is an axiom, benevolent and wise. With few enemies and many friends, she is fed off the dreams and hopes of man.


Note: I may update the image if I work on it some more.

https://steemit.com/dragon/@deadsun/beasts-and-monsters-series-1-5

Beautiful dragon, I love the horns :D
Probably a very dangerous pet xD

It's hard to have a pet that tends to be between worlds. We can make it work though.

Hahah ^^
Awesome update :D

I know it's months after the fact but feel compelled to post Minnie's rendering of [How To Train Your Dragon] Toothless. She did this when she was 9, especially so that a very skillful Kathmandu artisan embroiderer could embroider her favorite dragon on a t-shirt for her :)
Minnie'sEmbroideryPic 1 (1).jpeg

This lovely thank you very much for sharing :D
Please let her know this is awesome and to keep drawing what she loves! ^^

I will indeed!

This post has a very unique ingenuity. I think it's legendary. I've never seen before. @kristyglas

Thank you! I hope you join :D

I think dragon's are some very awesome magical creatures, I want to get back into drawing again for a long time and I think this is the thing that pushes me to start again looking forward to the contest and all the entery's

Your 3D bridge model is amazing! Definitelly followed and I hope you have some time to try this contest ^ ^

Thank you for your follow really appreciate it, I think I can find the time to take part in the contest ;D

A remider: for you to enter Dragon art contest if you can :D

This dragon is mad for getting bullied and he is walking through the lake of fire

Thank you for your entry, don't forget to name your pet dragon! Y
ou must also upvote and resteem this post if you want to compete ^^

Thanks for replying. His name is akari. Don't really want to compete (no way I'll win lol) but I will upvote and resteem

Cool name and thank you ^^
There is a lot of time left so you can try again if you'd like. Considering it is very simplified maybe go for quantity and humor :)

There's some really great stuff here, I'm almost embarrassed to post my own effort. Here he is though.

This is John. He's named after my neighbour who I drew it for who unfortunately died just before I got to give it to him. I hope you guys enjoy him as much as I enjoyed drawing him :)

Thank you for sharing! It is a very interesting style that I haven't seen before :D
Don't forget to upvote and resteem this post to qualify ^^

Whoops, totally forgot, having a bad day. Thanks for the reminder :D

No worries, good luck! ^ ^

Great idea for a contest! I will see if I find the time to submit something

Thank you and for Randowhale :D
Please do enter the contest, I would love to see your entry and style ^ ^

My pleasure

Awesome :D
You can post the final sketch here as well. Its nicely detailed and clean ^^

Great idea! I actually like that one better. :)

It's just different technique, so I think some will like one or the other more ^^

I thought it needed a better range of values so I updated. :)

Gabriel_Valles_Dragon2.png

Here is my Entry I went with a Traditional Dragon. Thank you for hosting this contest, cant wait to see some of the entries to come. I've always been a Dragon art Fan. https://steemit.com/dragoncontest/@woodywood143/dragonartcontest-my-entry

So much details and a great beast :D
Definitely would love to see it from different angles as well.
Also add a preview picture in your comment so more people notice and click the link ^ ^

Ok Thank you.

Awesome creation my friend, you have definitely raised the bar!!

Thank you @kristyglas,this contest is very useful for me. This is one of my simple works
https://steemit.com/dragoncontest/@rsphotowork/thank-for-the-dragon-art-contest-35sbd-prize-pool

Awesome, it has a very strong and clear personality :D
Please also share the picture here so others see and click the post ^^

Dragons everywhere!!

I am even starting to see them in the clouds hahaha..

image

ph9rqwua0s.jpg

Nice xD I definitely see it.
Thank you for sharing :D

https://steemit.com/dragoncontest/@kitcat/entry-of-dragon-art-contest
Hi, I have created a post for my entry here :)

Thank you for the entry :) the dragon has beautiful details.
I really like that this red color is very strong and different thicknesses . The post is also very interesting as you explain your culture and background story very well.

da mach ich doch auch mitt

Thank you for resteem! I'm sorry I don't understand your comment :)

I will join. Like this idea of a pet Dragon with maching personality :D

Awesome! I'm looking forward to your entry :D
I really like your photo editing #3 (where nature takes over) so I followed ^ ^

Wow, im glad you remember this work. Acctualy i posted today nr.9 of this series :)
Btw im also following you thats how i found this post.

I found it through your collection post, a great idea to share older posts :)

Yeah, a kind of secound chance for the older projects.
Btw. started working on my Pet Dragon :)

dragon bronk.jpg
https://steemit.com/art/@bronkong/dragoncontest-first-step-skech

Awesome facial expression, the personality is expressed really well :D
As Bronk uses Steem, will the colors be bluish? ^ ^

Yeah, I have thought of yellow and This blue Steem colours... I will experiment with colours in the evening :)

This would be challenging... You are essentially saying we are creating a new design for a dragon... Or are we drawing from an image @kristyglas

It's new design, that's why there is so much time and 3 different win categories :)
This is also why you're encouraged to make your own post to get upvotes and followers, no matter what the results of the contest are.

Mehn.... Time to wear my thinking cap... Wow..

It's definitelly fun once you get into it ^^

Just a reminder. There is around a week left till voting if you are interested to enter ^^

Hope there will be a lot of participants :)

I hope so too. Please be one of them :D

I wish I could join, but I have a full todo list this month :-( Good luck to everyone!

Thank you for resteem. I really hope you find a bit of time for this contest :)

I am not an artist so I can't draw much of anything, but the idea of this sounds interesting and a lot of fun so I might just try and join :)

Awesome, I really hope you do! Looking forward to it :D

I like this. Wonder how my pet dragon would look like. I like this idea: You can create and post more than one dragon. All of your works will be considered as 1 bigger entry.

Great, it is 1 bigger entry so your votes aren't split and it adds to the effort category.
Only disadvantage is for the 3rd category, the random pick: 1 entry per creator :)

Ah, I see. I may have to do multiple dragons if I can't decide on who's my favorite pet. Got to be 'unlazy' later so I can draw. I'm at work now.

Nice ^^ you can share more of them and/or make a post for your fans to pick which one to work more on. There is no 1 post limit or who must name the dragon (s).

Good luck with the contest @kristyglas. It sounds like a lot of fun. :[)

I will do my best to join and have already upvoted and resteemed for you so just have to get to creating my own dragon now. :[)

Thank you :D
I hope you share some sneak peeks with us! Really looking forward to your entry ^ ^

This post received a 2.1% upvote from @randowhale thanks to @gmuxx! For more information, click here!

This is more my thing....mabye I'll try...lol

I hope you do :D Looking forward to it!

It's really interesting! I'm joining! ;)
Sounds fun!

Awesome, looking forward to you entry! ^-^

This looks awesome! I will see if I can participate by the August 8th deadline (that's my birthday! :D haha). Is there any rules for the dragon drawing? Can it be digital? Does it have to be colored? etc.

Thanks again for hosting! ^^

The only rule if you are competing for 1st or 2nd place is that it has to be visual art. It can be painting, digital, pixel, collage, clay and more. It doesn't even have to be with art materials, but having details is good to recognize the dragon. Your anime style is beautiful, followed :D Anime, chibi and similar is very welcome.

A reminder: around a week left till voting for dragon art contest. If you plan to enter ^^

Very cool contest , Ill start working on my entry in the morning.

Looking forward to it :D

this is a great contest - I love dragons. Following you now

Thank you! Will you try to join? Your photography is beautiful and photo manipulation is allowed or you can use nature to make something like with stones (just an example). :)

Haha hmmm maybe - I will have a think ...put my dragon head on!

Sounds great :D

I think its a great idea, I will try to add something cool to the mix! There doesn't always have to be a monetary prize, recognising people is a good prize, but money is nice!

Thank you! Without the prize it would be hard to find people, but it might not always be monetary, because it depends on the post payouts. Lately mine have fallen a lot. I'm looking forward to you entry :D

Thanks Kristy, workin' on it now!

good things
i upvote and follow
do the same to help each others succeedd

This post has been ranked within the top 50 most undervalued posts in the second half of Jul 17. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $14.21 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Jul 17 - Part II. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

This is an interesting idea. Resteemed and upvoted! I will try find some time to participate in this event.

Thank you :D I really hope you do!

I love dragons! I'll participate soon as i finish wandering around the dream world full of dragons! 😊 but, honestly... i will try my very best to come out with an idea to draw a dragon @kristyglas 😁.

I'm really glad :D looking forward to it ^^

Upvoted and resteemed! 👍

Thank you :D Will you join as well?
Your "Drawing with Friends" entry is amazing, really captured the personality.

Thank you very much @kristyglas. My daughter @jeseemei would like to join too. She's busy now drawing the "dalek". 😊

Awesome good luck to her :D I would love to see her dragon as well. Thank you also for reminding me. Will add it in reminder post: you can have family members or close friends compete with your account if they don't use Steemit.

There are 2 pages
Pages