Whale drama

in #drama6 years ago (edited)

I always see @berniesanders post rants about @haejin. And his last post here attracted so much attention, it trended.

It actually got plenty of smart comments about the matter and multiple other trolls and loyal fans of @haejin.

Theres actually one comment that caught my attention (maybe because it was long and detailed? hahaha)

So there are multiple things you can do, and as mobbs has pointed out, there is flagawhale.

First, have your heard the expression "the whole is greater than the sum of its parts." well while this won't be true in terms of voting strengths (due to linear rewards) it is true in another aspect. If we had 1000 people flagging these posts with a diverse set of MV (or SP) then there would be no way for haejin/rancho/done/btu...etc to flag everyone backwithout destroying their VP to near 0.

Healing factor: Because they will likely concentrate their flags to the people that either A: spam more, or B: hold more SP then everyone can work together to counteract the flag and only vote enough to counteract a flag (as a reaction) in terms of both value and rep. Thus if they had happened to flag a smaller user, we could repair the damage.

Lets say we had 750 minnows with 0.00-3.47 dollar vote and lets say the average vote amongst all of them was 0.12 meaning the minnows could effective take or give $90 worth of votes, I know that is nothing compared to the whales but in the group there will be whales, and dolphins all working together and honestly, every bit helps.

I don't know, its a thought.

-@kryzsec

Suggesting a downvote war or something? I think so?

Because from what I know, @haejin is getting hate because his "false" speculations about any crypto market gets a ton of upvotes which people consider as shit posts, where they consider @haejin is raping the reward pool.

He has >25k followers on steemit which he earned from his 9 months on steemit, maybe these people profited from his calls early on that's why they were loyal to him. Although his frequent posts on his analysis on markets seems off. Idk what's the reason but I'm neutral within this drama. It's just that trending posts (like @adsactly's or @slowwalker's) that actually matter gets overlooked because @haejin's posts are always lined on the trending page.

That's my side of the story.

I'd prefer to stay away from market analysis by other people, so I do it myself. And so should you, so you won't cry and rant to these people when you lost money because of their calls.


Promotions:

Want to earn free MANNA? Click here.
(It's my referral code for mannabase, I've talked about it in this post)

Please vote for @precise, @steemgigs, and @cloh76.witness for witness!


Liked it? UPVOTE it!

Loved it? RESTEEM it!

Want more? FOLLOW me!



GLHF


Zed

Sort:  

No one Cares for them!
Stop using #whalepower for this type of content.
It is a Joke!

Sorry, idk what should I post on #whalepower. I used the tag because there's a whale drama happening.

Totally what I would've used it for.

Also #steemdrama

there's like... one posted with #steemdrama as a tag. ¯_(ツ)_/¯ (backslash doesn't work, and I'm bad at HTML 😢)

I know, but with the amount of drama from this war I think it would be good to get that tag going strong. For there will always be drama on a social network.

Lol that's very true hahahahahah


*eventually another dramaalert type of user trends on steemit* 🤔🤔

Hi I uh, I am going to defend my position since you appear to be against the voting war.

The voting war, though had a brief pause, has been going on for a few months now. The reason why we are flagging haejin has nothing to do with the type of content he promotes but rather something else. If you look at haejins posts right now yo will see many 200+ valued posts, and at 10 posts a day he is earning roughly 1000 SBD and 250 Steem (per day) which is equal to roughly $5000. The problem is that the money he is earning comes from a shared pool meaning everyone on steemit earns from the same pool of money called the reward pool, if the reward pool is draining faster than it can fill up then then we have problems. Anyways, of the recent rewards, haejin is taking a disproportionate amount of the reward pool for himself. This type of behavior is toxic for steem. To make matters worse, he upvotes himself almost exclusively and will flag anyone that has a differing opinion, I mean I commented on his post about science (not about crypto) about how the science was incorrect and offered a correction and got flagged...

This has nothing to do with us hating on his TA or being jealous that he is making bank, its that him making that much money puts the rest of steem at risk. Not sure if you noticed but in January, 50SP was good enough for around a 0.023 valued vote, now it is dropped to between 0.013 and 0.017 even though the value of steem has only dropped $1 meaning it should have, under optimal conditions, dropped at most to 0.018... The extra drop is due to the reward fund getting lower.

You do not have to join, but if every whale and dolphin was doing what Haejin is doing, even the largest whales would have difficulty making a vote worth more than $1 because the reward fund would drain so rapidly, and do to the excess in steem in the market the value will drop to nothing and SBD will likely drop to $1 and then rise over time until steem recovers, which may be never...

So a select group of whales, dolphins, minnows, and the like are voting on haejin's posts to decrease the value to show that we do not tolerate such behavior... And we get hit by haejin and his followers. Some people lose a lot of rep (one guy went from 48 to 16 in the past 12 hours)

So whether you choose to ignore it or not, what is happening is very real, and has the potential to do a lot more damage than one might think.

I'm sorry I never meant to offend anyone, but now I understand the real reason why @haejin is hated by everybody and I thank you for that. I think that other responsible minnows, dolphins, orcas and whales deserves @haejin's share of the reward pool. Is there any flag trail I can follow?

You didn't offend anyone?

I just came to defend my position on the subject, everyone has their own opinions on it. I don't know about trails in specific, potentially the stewardsofgondor have something, you could always ask around in flag-a-whale and stuff. You can check out there discord somewhere, I believe its on the account posts @flagawhale

That being said, if you do join up in this then you have the potential to get flagged by the other side (we can nurse you back and counter their flags) but still.

I believe more people deserve a better share of the reward pool than him. Future steemians will have a hard time using the platform if they get 20 upvotes with no value at all, it's disheartening. I'm lucky to get cents from my posts and even luckier when whales notice me. And thank you again for making things clear.

Yeah, the first time around I think I was on Bernie's side. He's gotten a lot more vitriolic this time around though. The more of his posts I see, the more I think he's playing us all for fools.

Yeah, haejin gets a large share of the pool, but so does Bernie. This war is really just making the rest of us victims. Haejin also has the benefit of the doubt by having some really good people. I'm not sure where @good-karma stands on the issue, but I've never seen his name flag a post.

The First Golden Rule of Steem: Good neighbors don't flag.

Loading...