How to draw good

in #drawing6 years ago

It seems to be a stupid question, but I asked myself many times how to draw better.

2018-04-25 16.48.38.jpg

For me drawing was always a process of growing. I started when I was 3, stopped when I was 13, came back to it again when I was 18, then stopped, then realised that I love it. And every time I came back, I noticed my drawing has changed together with me. Some straightforward tips for people who want to draw but don't know how and what.

Here we go...

1. Think what interests you: topics, ideas, concepts, people.
2. Try to draw not from photography but reality, and it gives you an understanding of volumes and dimensions.
3. Take it easy, don't expect to make a masterpiece immediately. Fewer expectations, more happy result.
4. Try to practice every time you can, several times per week, but better every day.
5. Look for inspiration around, don't hesitate to learn from artists you like.

I was drawing this can 20 times in different positions, using different materials, but only this satisfied me.

Good luck and thank you for your support with upvotes and comments!

Sort:  

i drew since i was 5 and stop when i was 11, start again at 15 then stop when i was 18, and start again at 27 until now am 33...

Looks like it is a neverending process and it is great :)

At first when I checked the picture I thought it was photographed! Brains work weirdly. I took a second look after reading this and noticed it's a drawing, a good drawing though!

I have also started drawing when I was very little and it has been a real on-off relationship ever since. As a teenager I stayed up all nights and draw the most. Then I just stopped and after couple of years started again. I have never been good at painting even though I wish I was! I feel like I ruin all my drawings and scetches if I try to paint on them. So there's definitely something to challenge myself more.

Thanks for the tips, they're needed since every time I start again after a break I feel like I'm stuck and don't know where to begin.

Thank you for your comment! But when I hear someone says I'm not good at, I'm very sceptical because it's very subjective and very judgemental. I have heard many times that I'm not good in painting or academical drawing, but then it's just an opinion of some people, someone else said it's great and I have learned to be tolerant to this critique. The only measurement for me now if it makes sense for me, if I fell excitement or constant interest to it, then I will continue doing it. So I wish you inspiration and excitement in whatever you do.

Maybe the judgment comes from the contradiction between expectations and reality. Usually have I a clear vision of the end result and equally often it doesn't match with the reality. Although the process itself is enjoyable and what actually is more important to me. Like you said, inspiration, excitement and passion.

very good and interesting tips

Thank you for your support @alhidayat :)

yupps. you are welcome

amazing. thanks for the tips!