Making of "Shroom alien"

in #drawing7 years ago

Showing my process of making images, gathering and developing ideas

This is my initial sketch.

Notice that I just have a basic idea of "cowboy hat" "alien" "holding mushrooms" and the rest wasn't quite clear, so I just started doodling ellipses, kinda like rocks or cells.

I found this small free program called FireAlpaca, and I use it for most of my light fast image work, going from sketch to color studies.

So I made a new layer, covered it with a bluish green rectangle, set the layer mode to "Multiply"

This gives me a darker base to "paint with light" on

I added a new layer, set the blend mode to "Add" and took an Airbrush with a light cyan color.

I then painted this:

Then continued adding lights, blurring, adding details, and another "multiply" layer to darken the foreground, and got this:

Now from here this could be further developed, added to, made into a more final design like a t-shirt or poster or large print of some kind. However this is the early stage type work, so I wanted to show how to bring it from raw doodles in a sketchbook to a more cohesive color study, to see if the image is worth putting more time and energy into.

I also made a gif animation (on giphy.com) to show the progression:

Let me know what you think, if I see interest I will make a video with the process :)