Now finished - creating a digital watercolor Basement - step by step

in #drawing7 years ago

So yesterday I posted a 50% progress of this illustration for my dungeons and dragons website.

https://steemit.com/drawing/@derekvonzarovich/a-map-illustration-50-color-is-missing

Today I have finished it and can share with you some pics of the overall process of how I illustrate in photoshop. This time I used a digital watercolor technique where I first lay down the general saturation tones in greyscale, and then I add colors on top of it. This is the end result:

8.jpg

This first step and it really depresses me to share is just a simple sketch.

1.jpg

HAHAHA a chimp can do that ! but now I lay down the main features and walls.

2.jpg

With that done, I now proceed to draw all the different furniture and stuff in the basement. It's a simple underhouse with a secret exit through some tunnels.

3.jpg

To finish, I add details with a very small brush tip and draw texture lines in the floor and external walls. It takes a while this part.

4.jpg

Now comes the time for the greyscale. I'm using only the hues between plain white and black. I use a subtly texturized brush for this. It's kind grungy. Notice how the main objective here is to demonstrate the lighting in the place.

5.jpg

6.jpg

Now I add color, to do this, I create a new layer and set it to "color" mode. Thus it will take the main color I draw, but give it the saturation of the grey layer below.

7.jpg

That looks great already. To finish, I add a background layer, adjust the contrast and add some more illumination details, and that's how I created this:

8.jpg

Thanks for reading ! it was really fun to draw this, it will go live today in my website and probably also in my Patreon account pretty soon.



I'm a graphic illustrator and I focus my work in tabletop RPG games like dungeons and dragons.

I'm new on Steemit but have great aims to share my work in posts like this one where people can see illustrations be created from the ground up.

Send some love, likes and follow me for awesome cartography illustrations.

I do this full time and I love creating fantastic locations !

If you're interested in my work, take a look at my Patreon page

There is a pledge level that gives access to my photoshop source files, in case you wish to see my workflow and learn in the process.

optional text

Sort:  

Wow! That looks really cool. Well done!

thanks ! you're really kind :D

I came on request (punny huh) and stayed for the DANK MAPS!!! been checking out your profile. Hope you don't mind but gonna use your maps in my next campaign.

I don't mind at all. Go ahead @natespinney, but if you really wanna see the "lot-o-maps" check this out: https://www.elventower.com/maps-index

I like your maps! :-) ( Merannia the home of kings is my favorite so far )

thanks @agneslaczo that was commissioned by a client and will be used in a printed product :D

awesome
ilike it, upped

please check my post about art :)

Good graphics and design. :)

thanks ! you are very kind !!!

Whoa, that's a nice drawing man! I just remembered my days of table RPG with my friends and my elven assasssin! ;)

dude you should totally get back to it. RPG world is better than ever these days.

Those maps are awesome. I can totaly imagine myself running through all those in a video game or something. :)

these are for dungens nd dragons but it'd be awesome to have them used for any kind of videogame

It's amazing! Upvoted your post :-)

thanks 1 you are too kind :D followed !

@OriginalWorks Mention Bot activated by @derekvonzarovich. The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @derekvonzarovich to be original material and upvoted it!

OW2.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

For more information, Click Here!