A sketch, a dahlia, and some teasels

in #drawing6 years ago (edited)

Sketching with ideas for my next Singularity piece.

july20art.jpg

I'm enjoying toying with the anachranitstic feel of my 'future' world and so have been toying with some Garden Party scenario's for my Singularity creatures. Caught in the momentum of repeating traditional actions, but wondering at their own reason for doing them seems appropriate to an old fashioned Summer gathering that will sit on the cusp of Edwardian afternoon and Steampunk. We shall see where it goes.

It has been a busy week and looks to be a busier one coming up. I still find time each day to sketch and work on art. Although, I have a few pieces in progress pretty much all the time, I'm always coming up with new ideas, so sketching them out is half the battle on the way to some watercolour studies and final pieces.

Summer here is a busy time for me as I also let out two little cottages in the Summer. And since I am an avid amateur gardener, I get pretty excited when I see new things blooming. Yesterday, at the cottages, I was excited to see my teasals blooming.
july20tiesal2.jpg

Also called dipsaucas, they are biennal in that they only grow foliage their first season and then get their amazing thistle like flowers the second. You can see they are intermingled with my thorn-less blackberry hedge.

These flowers are amazing as they fill in with their little lavender coloured blooms and come fall they turn brown and are a great dried flowers. They will last forever.
july20tiesal1.jpg

Not to be outdone by my cottage teasels, Toad Hall is blooming as well. And my yellow dahlia is finally blooming. I have been waiting for this first flower to burst open. The bloom is about as big as my fist!
july20dhalis.jpg

july20flower2.jpg
A second bud is ready to grow right beside it. I have to say I really love dahlias, but in our climate I have to dig them up in the fall and store them in the cellar or they'd never make it.

I realize this post seems a sort of random mish mash, but on a warm sunny Summer day with art calling and the cool sea beckoning me as well, this is probably the most coherent I can be to share my sketch and the flowers that excited me today.

I hope you get a chance to go outside and be excited by your own passions. Take a moment to smell a bloom or sketch anything.

If you like my work by all means upvote, resteem, and comment. I always appreciate comments.


And check out my other posts, including my latest Singularity painting.


Copyright @donnadavisart - All Rights Reserved

asteemitfooter.jpg

Sort:  

It sounds like you had a lovely summer day. My flowers bring me great joy too, and I always have new ones starting up in the greenhouse:flowers-in-pots.JPG
yellow digitalis, oleander cuttings, multicolored columbines, and many more...

Oh, lovely! I am hoping one day to get a permanent greenhouse. I have tried, over the past few Summers, the temporary type you buy that you put together and they are covered in plastic. They work wonderfully, but only last one season, but I keep trying different areas of our property to decide before I invest in the real thing. I love starting seedlings.

It's about time to take my lavender cuttings soon. I want enough plants to make a hedgerow of them along a long path!

Oleander, I'd love those!

Yes I decided to have a glass and aluminum veranda built as a painting studio. The light is fabulous. And I put shelves there for the seedlings. Still working on the inside. atelier2.jpeg

This is SO dreamy, I love it!

Hello @donnadavisart, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

nice sketch, looking forward to seeing the work! upvoted & followed!

This post has been upvoted and picked by Daily Picked #58! Thank you for the cool and quality content. Keep going!

Don’t forget I’m not a robot. I explore, read, upvote and share manually 😊


You can upvote, follow, resteem, delegate and join my curation trail to support me, good creators and minnows.

Thank you!

Dear Artzonian, thanks for using the #ArtzOne hashtag. Your work is valuable to the @ArtzOne community. Quote of the week: Art, freedom and creativity will change society faster than politics. -Victor Pinchuk

Her eyes are so intense, expresive and miterious. I liked.

Oh! Dahlias are a favorite of mine too...of course, I had rotten luck when i tried growing them, but I've learned my lesson and leave the growing and nurturing to hubs ;)
I love those little thistle things..are they the same as the plant I know as sea holly, or is it a totally different plant?

Totally different. Sea holly, which I have, are smaller and live more on the shore and harsher spots, these teasel are as tall as me and prefer more of a hedgerow, field environment. Both are amazing and pretty sculptural.

Interesting! It is all very pretty.