An Emergency Room: Configuring For Comics and First Actual Post

in #drawing4 years ago

"I've always found it interesting that pirates would rather do the bidding of pedophiles than promote the freedom of their fellow man. Anyways..."

I haven't ever made a comic before and the thought of drawing one is somewhat terrifying. This is what I want to do though. The only way to improve your ability to do anything is just to do it; no matter how bad you are at it. Stick with it and in time things should get easier. That's the plan. The following is a 3d scene with two blue amazing character place holders that I managed to draw somehow.


This is fine if you're going for a semi-realistic look - which I'm not. I prefer a more cartoon/comic style render. In order to achieve this I set up the compositing the following way:
This is the setup I'll use from now on for all the things that are not drawn. The result is much more desirable:

(I changed the color of the light fixture to match the bed. Other than that this is identical to the previous image.)


So there it is. I completely cheated and didn't draw anything except two blobs in the middle of the screen. For now, it is still much faster for me to create the scene in 3d than it is to draw it. Those characters will get properly drawn though. That's next - draw them into something other than blue blobs. So this isn't over yet. Stay tuned to see where this thing goes.