Step by step #7 - Carnival of Venice

in #drawing6 years ago

vignette.jpg

Hi Steemers!

Last year, the Character Design Challenge
( https://www.facebook.com/groups/CharacterDesignChallenge/) proposed a very nice theme: The Carnival of Venice. All that fantasy and magnificent costumes made me want to participate!

I took a few reference images on Internet, that inspired me for the costume, the atmosphere, the colors,...
ref.jpg

Then I began to draw, directly in a new document, with Photoshop. I was inspired by the skulls, and choose to use them as theme for the disguise...
line-steps.jpg

And here is finaly the line that satisfied me :-) I was ready to put colors on it!

line-fin.jpg

As usual, the first step is to put somme flatted colors, and then add details, adjust the color balance and the levels. In step 5, I made a symetry to check if all looked allright.

steps colo 1.jpg

steps colo 2.jpg

And here is the final result!

illu fin rvb.jpg

I hope you liked it, because I had a lot of fun doing it :-)

If you enjoy my work, please don't forget to upvote, resteem, and follow. Thank you!

See you soon with a new painting!

Hélène

Sort:  

Oh my...That is very interesting artwork! I like your idea. but if you use the full image of your work as thumbnail..I think everyone will click this post and read all of it.

Thank you very much @zhafiqkun! Thanks also for the advice, but don't you think if I use the full image in thumbnail, it will be too small, and people won't understand what it is? I could try next time to see... :-)

not sure, but if they set the image for every thumbnail as full image which is not small, i think they can see the whole things nicely. But its just an advice for you. I really like your work. Its extremely nice and I want other people feel the same as me.

this is awesome 👍

Thanks a lot @aurah! :-)