Drawing of Chanterelle mushrooms

in #drawing6 years ago (edited)

Last week I drew a Morchella mushroom (more background on the mushroom drawing, motivation, reference material and techniques used here: https://steemit.com/original/@klass/the-drawing-of-a-morchella-mushroom-1).

This evening I wanted to draw something a bit more special; Chanterelles. Not only are they absolutely delicious -I love them cooked in sweet cream, onion, garlic, rosemary and a bit of salt and pepper, then add them to my gnocchi- or that picking mushrooms in general is a very relaxing activity, I wanted to throw some symbolism in here too.

So I drew a Chanterelles family symbolizing my own.

Untitled.png

The Chanterelle itself is not the most exciting mushroom ever; it has no spectacular color or other outer characteristics which make it king of the woodland forest. Its simple, and this simplicity is what appeals to me most. The outside may look dull, but the taste is rich and the chanterelle has a bite to it (not like their mushy white cousins you can buy in the supermarket).

People maybe should also be more like a chanterelle than a champignon.

Sort:  

This looks really great, Klass, especially, the tutorial article!

Such an intricate work, and a great illustration to what essentially art is - an illusion of dots and strokes.

Keep up the good work!

Thanks!

Damn man you made me hungry. My grandparents are the best at picking mushrooms; I feel like this art is long forgotten nowadays and I regret not having learnt this from them. Plus it requires experience. And although I’m not a huge fan of mushrooms, pickled chanterelles are one of my favorite sides. Btw great drawings skills! Love how you took it to a different level.

Its so relaxing, mushroom picking. Mandatory activity for people with a burnout- mushroom therapy.