My Drawing PRACTICE!

in #drawing6 years ago



Take note: I am not a professional artist. This is just a practice. Please don't censure my work. Hahaha!

Simple+Divider.png

Drawing is one of my artistry but I am not an expert on it. I haven't done it for a long time. Most of the time, I am just in front of my laptop either doing my job as an Online English Teacher, watch videos on Youtube, scanning my Facebook newsfeed or reading some blogs on Steemit.

So, my hands are already rusted with stiffness and firmness. I feel like I can't draw anymore because I haven't practiced for such a long time and I am a lazy person as you might want to know. But I think Steemit is giving me a reason to exercise my untrained hobbies.

A power outage is a common thing in this uncivilized town hence it happens twice or thrice every week and today has become my leisure time because of that. Since I was bored for the day, I practiced drawing. I really want to polish my skill in portrait drawing but I find it really difficult. I scanned my phone to check if there might be a picture that I could use as a sample. And, there I saw a downloaded picture of Maris Racal, a young entertainer, and an actress in my country.


SOURCE



MATERIALS =======

1. Pencils
I used the graphite pencils that I bought in a bookstore called FULLY BOOKED in Ayala, Cebu.


xh5B2du - Imgur.jpg

2. DRAWING PAPER
I also bought this drawing book in FULLY BOOKED bookstore however, this isn't mine now. I gave this to my father since he can draw better than me. I just snatched a page, actually I tore it. He didn't know but when he saw me doodling something on it, he didn't react.

I also used...

  • an eraser
  • an extra sheet of paper

PROCEDURE ====

First, I sketched using circles and other figures. Honestly, I don't really know how to sketch. Portrait drawing is the toughest thing to draw for me. After that, I drew the face part of hers and then I tried to do the hair and the neck to her shoulder and back.

vcsGMv1 - Imgur.jpg

Next, I did her hand that is touching her chin. I first sketched the fingers to the hand down to her arm. If you notice, the upper limb is quite big. This is going to be a mess. Please bear with me.

8gIdJsL - Imgur.jpg

And then, I did her hair. I stroked some straight and curve lines. Take note, you have to gently do that or else, you will have a tough time erasing all your mistakes.

lbycRAl - Imgur (1).jpg

Lastly, I use the 6B graphite pencil to the dark parts of her hair. With the shading, I was actually just guessing what pencils to use. And then, I delineated the outlines to make it more visible and not just like a silhouette of a person. And here is the product of my three hours suffering.

UM2iva6 - Imgur.jpg




Seriously! I better need to learn more about this.

Fact: I was having a hard time with almost everything. I think I messed up her chin, lips, and nose. I asked my father to confirm that it was not exactly the same with the original picture and he said 'No.' I was doomed. BUT! He promised that he will help me to practice.

That's all guys. This is not exactly a tutorial rather a messy show off of my unfortunate drawing skill. I hope you will still be here with me as I go along trying to improve my drawing skill.


See ya next time!

Loving you all Steemians,

@loudetteiam 😘

Sort:  

This post has received a 0.07 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @banjo.