Comic Character 001 - The Batman

in #drawing7 years ago

Hello Steemers,

I hope you are well.

Last week @dlina-v-metrah requested I draw Batman and today I have finally finished the drawing.

I decided to mix it up a little this week, I usually find a reference image to reffer to the entire way though drawing. I didn't do that this time, I found 4 images of batman that I liked and then just got drawing.

I imagine there is all ready an image of batman identical to what I've drawn and that I could have found and used that for reference but that would take the fun out of this drawing.

One of my favorite comic book characters Batman!

batman.png

Stage 1

The initial spacings and shaping of the character to be. I also included hints at drawing a background.

IMG_20170628_175526.jpg

Stage 2

Continuing the blue layers of shaping the character. I got the Batman well refined and refined the hints at having a background.

IMG_20170629_202134.jpg

Stage 3

Using what I learned from drawing luffy - I do way too many pencil layers - I did this one layer of HB pencil. I picked all the lines I like and started blocking out where the hard shadows would go.

IMG_20170702_110323.jpg

Stage 4

I move straight onto pen from there and with a 0.1 fine line solidified the lines I would continue with. I would usually finalise this layer be taking to a long rubbing out session to leave as little of the earlier stages behind however I decided to not bother with this as I had already blocked out the shading and would have had to go back to do it all again.

IMG_20170702_112300.jpg

Stage 5

On to the brush pen that I am a big fan of. This stage was a nightmare to start and probably the worsed part about drawing batman. Covering the drawing in black and making sure the shapes remain from earlier stages - it is very easy to loose so much detail when blocking in solid black everywhere.

IMG_20170702_121729.jpg

Stage 6

The final Shading. Using a HB pencil I added tone to the clothing, I also grabbed a rubber to lighten up the shading in places which turned out quiet well.

IMG_20170702_122721.jpg

Critical Analysis

As a drawing using references but not as a direct copy this posed a bit of a challenge. On steemit I have posted a bunch of my sketches and most of the time I am copying from a reference, line for line. However this time I used the references only a guide to what details make up The Batman and not a reference to copy.

Drawing out the overall stance, size and proportions of the character went really well in stages 1 & 2. The detailing and refinement of the drawing continued just fine.

The big problem arose when I came to inking the entire image. Batman is a character with almost all tone deep in the dark range with very little light toning. This was scary to start of with and continued to challenge me through-out. Dark vs Light contrast where tricky and soon realised that the line work I put in place earlier would soon be covered in black ink. In most cases I think I have done well where solid black meets solid black of over lapping clothing, but there are some clear place that the lighting is incorrect and the two parts merge - a great example is the foot on the right blending in with his cape around the back.

Not only that but i think this drawing is very rough in places and was a symptom of not having enough space once again. I drew this on a folded A3 piece of paper, giving myself the usual A4 amount of space. When It came to inking this was a real problem in the fine small areas and also made it tricky to keep the edges neat. I can see so many places that have sketchy edges and could be much better had the I had more space to move and put the detail in.

Over all I am happy with the outcome of this drawing, maybe I should aim to draw on A3 in future and I also need to find my other brush pen as I am using a real brush pen and hate the hairs. I much prefer the felt brush pen that I used for drawings earlier than luffy.

I hope you are happy with the quality of this batman drawing @dlina-v-metrah I feel I could have done better and maybe haven't spent enough time or care on this one.

With the earnings I have made through posting my drawings I think it is about time I treat myself to some new equipment. What do you guys think? I bet you'd agree.

Until next time,
Stay well.

STEEMit-Verify-Bardge-nathwright876[1535].png

Sort:  

This post received a 2.4% upvote from @randowhale thanks to @nathwright876! For more information, click here!

really great work I like the fact that you share all the different steps your art is really good and I'll be glad to hear your opinion about my work here is the link and hope you'll enjoy it :)
https://steemit.com/art/@othmanesl/harry-potter-second-drawing

Batman always get an upvote from me @nathwright876!

great work!