Drawitbetter Contest #8: The Watercolor Lion

in #drawitbetter6 years ago (edited)

Hi there Steemians, Nicole aka @thepaperplane here!

This was made to participate in sirsensei Drawitbetter challenge, but with Christmas on the way I couldn't get to upload it in time (I think), nor it really came out the way I wanted it to be, buuut I decided to upload it anyways to try to improve myself and my art in the next challenges I decide to take part in, and well, in my skills :)

lionn.jpg

The challenge consisted in creating a piece of art (using any kind of materials or styles) using a theme sirsensei provided, and presenting some kind of process of my work, so here I bring to you my process.

I looked up images of lions online on Google, and inspired myself to create a color pallet to create my design
2017-12-23 (1).png

In Corel Painter, I started with the lineart, then highlighted the borders of it, and started to fill it up. I tried to replicate the watercolor effect that surrounds the lion and the litle details on itself. Then, to correct easily the colors I used Photoshop.

1 lineart.jpg

2 highlights.jpg

3 painting process.jpg

5.jpg

6.jpg

painting process.jpg

And VOILA!!

lionn.jpg

Thanks for reading :)

Sort:  

Very cool! I thought it was "legit" watercolor when I saw the thumb, so nice work there. Looking forward to seeing more of your work

Happy Steeming

Hi there, thank you so much for the upvote and your kind comment♥

Cool! Thank you for the progress photos! I like the final result very much! I think it's great that you intent to participate in contests, this can seriously benefit you a lot! My experience with contests here on Steemit is VERY good! I'll keep my fingers crossed for you! And I'm looking forward to see more of your art @thepaperplane ;) all the best, Klaudia

haha I plan on participating when I can during 2018 ;) thanks for the comment!

The watercolor smudging really gives this a soft, artsy look. Well done!

Thank you soo much for checking this out♥

Bonjour @avion
Quelle magnifique œuvre d'art !
C'est vous qui l'avez fait ? Si oui vous êtes un vrai artiste ;)
Moi aussi je fais de l'art sur blog si sa t'intéresse;)
https://steemit.com/@katouna
Ravie de vous connaître :)
J'espère qu'on sera ami ^ _ ^
Bonne journée :-D

Hi there, i'm sorry, but I think you got the wrong person since I'm not @avion?

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @thepaperplane to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Congratulations @thepaperplane! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got your First payout
Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Wow this is amazing. Beautiful artwork.