A peculiar story from my grandma

in #dream6 years ago

dream.jpg

Greetings my fellow steemians, this will be my very first post on here and for this occasion I have a story to share with you.

My grandma told me this story years ago and apparently it was a recollection of a dream she had when she was a lot younger, she must have been in her twenties at the time. In her dream she was an older woman and the world she found herself in was unlike anything she had known back then.

She did not recognize any places, buildings, other people or even just the clothes people wore. It all seemed foreign to her. There was however one remarkable property that everyone who she came across shared. On their forehead they would have what seemed to be a third eye which was closed most of the time except for certain interactions during which they would open and glow in differing colors. Based on her observation and gut feeling in the dream she said that she could tell that these third eyes allowed those people to project or exchange some kind of energy and it could have certain qualities like "praise", "blame" or even "love" or "hate".

It was like some sort of semi telepathic link made manifest in form of that organ. Naturally she wanted to know if she had one of those eyes herself, but when she reached for her own forehead there was nothing unusual to be found. In the beginning nobody really paid attention to her but the more time she spent around the people from the dream world, the more time she spent exploring that strange place, the more people became aware of her presence.

At first they would only look at her surprised, some would open their third eye trying to project something towards her to engage in one of those telepathic links, however since my grandma lacked that eye in her dream, those attempts were unsuccessful. Strangely enough there seems to have been not a single attempt at verbal communication. As time passed, a feeling of uneasiness began to grow within her. She wasn't sure whether it was her own reaction to the situation or if it came from those people around her, basically a reflection of what they may have been feeling themselves, but she could tell that they began to perceive her as sort of a foreign body and she could feel some kind of opposing force beginning to get stronger and stronger until eventually her senses began to dwindle and she woke up.

She only told me this story once and I have no idea if it was made up or if it is something she actually dreamed like that. Of course my retelling of the story probably lacks some details she originally told me but as I said, it has been a while. I do remember that when she told the story, it was quite vivid so it seems to have had a real impact on her back then. I think when she told me the story something must have had shaken up the memory of the dream so when she remembered, she shared it with me.

My grandma was never a big fan of science fiction or fantasy movies, TV shows or books so I always considered a direct influence from any of that to be at least unlikely. I don't know if it may have been a prophetic dream or an astral journey to another world. Maybe it was just an amalgamation of bits and pieces of information she (subconsciously?) picked up here and there from radio or TV shows after all.

In recent times with the growing importance of social media and ever increasing interconnectedness of people and objects however I sometimes remind myself of that story. I wonder if the connections we share evolve into something like that at some point. A purer kind of communication or interaction. Not simply the click of a like button but a direct exchange of some form of energy. The rise of blockchain techology is also something that reminds me of that dream world. Surely it will change the way people interact with each other, however I wonder, should we not already look beyond this technology and ask ourselves what else may be awaiting further down that road? What do you people make of this story, what do you think about it?

Sort:  

@schroedinger, I gave you an upvote on your first post! Please give me a follow and I will give you a follow in return!

Please also take a moment to read this post regarding bad behavior on Steemit.

wow! Nice dream to remember, there are times that our subconscious gives us these surprises

Congratulations @schroedinger! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard - Witness Update
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!