Dream Analysis: I was punched in the stomach at 6am

in #dreams23 days ago

The scary thing about this is that I felt this punch in real life, in my bed. I also live alone so that makes it more frightening and I shouted out in my bedroom and scared my dog in the process.


image.png
src
according to my image search this 1781 painting is called "the Nightmare" ... pretty cool eh?

I was dreaming about a lot of things last night, most of them I don't remember but I do remember waking up at seriously early o'clock (by my standards) after being punched in the stomach in real life - or so it seemed at the time. I woke up right away and shouted at the nobody that was in my bedroom and then began a search of my 55 sq. meter apartment looking for who it was that assaulted me in my slumber. Obviously no one was there and it was a figment of my imagination but this marks the first time in about a year that my dreams carried on into the real world.

The last time this happened to me there was some sort of floating ghost of sorts that was near my bed and that got me up and at 'em pretty fast as well.

I mentioned in the past that I dream quite vividly on a regular basis and normally will remember at least some of what the dream was about. It is quite rare that the dream is so vivid that it carries through to the "material world" though.

They say that our animals take on traits of the owners, and Nadi (my dog) was running around and looking for the thing that hit me as well, she was growling and looking in corners and well, even though it was a bit insane for me to do that in the first place, I was proud of her for standing up for her crazy dad.


image.png

So our search was not fruitful but it rattled me to the point where I went ahead and got up and stayed awake. I suppose we should go ahead and try to make something of this Saturday.

This marks the 10th time or so in my entire life that the sprit world carried over into real life and while it was really scary at the time I am actually glad that it happened. I remember shouting out "what the hell!? I live alone! Who's there?"

The mind is a crazy thing. Here's what the experts have to say about being assaulted in your dreams

  • Fear of the unknown (cop out, astrology type answer that I expected from this sort of thing)
  • You have unresolved conflicts: Again, this could apply to almost anyone
  • Fear of being harmed: Well duh.... who isn't afraid of that
  • A feeling of loss of control in one's life: I actually have a much better handle on my life now and its direction than I have had in a really long time

So there we have it! The experts don't know what the hell they are talking about. I believe I just have an overactive imagination and occasionally dream of fights.

Sort:  

Scary when a dream is that believable and actually waking up believing you had been punched. We had ghosts at our last house in England and they made the bed vibrate. The weird thing is we knew it was one or two kids playing diving under the bed, but the crazy part is our base was solid. I never believed in ghosts until I lived in that house lol.

That's nuts. I still don't believe in ghosts but in that situation it would be difficult to explain by any other means.

Wow, I can't even imagine that. Do you have a mark where the punch hit or do you think it was more of an internal thing? Like a cramp or something?

I am now having back problems just a few days later and not that long ago I actually tore some muscle fibers in my lower back. Perhaps I rolled "wrong" while asleep, re-injured the muscles and my brain just interpreted it as being struck.

That could be. Take it easy either way, back pain is no joke. I have occasional flare ups and it always puts me out of commision for a bit. I actually find myself sweating sometimes just from brushing my teeth because the pain is so bad.

XD i just got to this post by finding a reblog of a 2018 ghost band blog and i dont regret this at all.
scary thing to get your stomach punched by ... the unknow D:

you mean the Swedish band named "Ghost?"

YESSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSS!! imagine that !! im glad they went viral a few years ago, i love their songs and work in general C:
the real : effort pays off