Hivefest Created Rabbit Holes To Jump Into

in #dreemer2 years ago

screenshot_2021-11-15_111525.png

Hive joined the cartoon world… well I mean virtual reality where we all got to look like cartoons. It was my first Hivefest and my first use of a VR platform. From the reading I’ve done since then, it seems it worked better than last year. The last two years have been virtual events due to the pandemic.

I updated my Ginabot notices yesterday morning to capture posts from others recapping and talking about their Hivefest experience.

This morning my chief mischief maker, better known as Hobo the cat decided that waking me up before 4am was a good thing. She’s as subtle as a sledgehammer when she wants me up.

In addition to poking me with her claws, tapping my face and jumping on me, she started playing with the Ziploc bag I put things in that she could and would use as toys during the night.

IMG_2431.PNG

Given the opportunity, my mouse, mouse pad, eye glasses etc become her night toys. I put them away to stop her. Now she’s found the bag and can get my attention by getting into it, seems I need to use something else. I’m thinking one of the storage bins I use for my dehydrated foods might do the trick.

Anyways, once she had me awake and wasn’t about to let me back to sleep, I decided I’d explore through the accumulated notices and see where they took me for an hour. I should have known, an hour wasn’t going to cut it and it wasn’t just going to be the Hivefest catching my attention. Five hours later, I’m getting around to writing this.

@NiftyPhil did a couple of great posts -- Day 1 & Day 2 -- with lots of screen shots. There are some neat shots in other posts as well. Well on the posts I took the time to look at what else they post about. Thus the rabbit holes, cause you know when you’re curious, rabbit holes are candy.

He writes about the WAX chain and NFTs a lot, something I’ve been interested in. After he directed me to where to get a WAX wallet, he dropped me an NFT -- Thanks Phil.

I own some WAX but it’s been sitting on Bittrex since I bought it. Partially because I was trying to get my head around where to find things like the wallet and partially because I’m head down in some projects like finishing my Christmas coloring book and getting it published before December.

My View on Hivefest

My hat is off to @roelandp and all the hard work he’s done on the event. I know from experience there is a ton of details to attend to when organizing an event in real time. I can only guess there is still a ton of details to deal with for a virtual event along with the inevitable software glitches.

He’s posted a great wrapup post here and has said he’ll be breaking the presentations out of the livestreams for those who would like to check out some of them. Thank you for that, there is some I’d like to relisten to and a few I missed. They will be available on the Hivefest YouTube channel


Check out his post for more details. Some interesting stats:

  • 256 were able to register to get their badges, up from 174 last year
  • 1146 users joined the event worlds, up from 782 last year
  • 14,895 visits from 84 different countries, up from 4,629 last year

There were a lot of non-Hive people joined the event. Some of whom were a tad… odd. To say the least.

I didn’t attend all the presentations, missed a few I wanted to see. After needing to restart the app a few times at inopportune times, I finally figured out that I needed to shut down my browser, was mostly able to leave Discord open for DMs but even that pushed the app’s limits some. I know my next computer is going to have as much RAM as I can possibly afford since I do a lot of graphic work these days.

I wasn’t really sure why VR and not just livestream or Zoom for a virtual Hivefest. But after attending, it is nice being able to interact somewhat like in real time. I’m sure the environment will improve over time. I was able to have a few conversations over the two days.

I think the most natural (as in sort of like real time) was with @crimsonclad, who is always a pleasure to chat with. That conversation led to @yidneth finding us and the three of us chatting. I found if there were several talking nearby that conversation became a challenge. Strong voices would overpower others, which is often the case in real time.

I was able to chat with @dreemsteem, @penderis and @bluefinstudios some. Blue found that the Mac presented challenges for him using the app. Dreem and I used the messaging feature a lot which made chatting easier.

Most of the conversations I had were up in the NFT Showroom where I was able to connect with @lordbutterfly, @solominer, @jarvie, @roelandp and @schmidi. Fewer people around really helped. The messaging feature was also great to have. @schmidi did a great post with lots of screenshots too.

Caught up to @sgt-dan towards the end but I had heard him a few times as I was floating around. Usually shilling PYPT, thank you for promoting the show which runs every Thursday at 12pm EST in the Dreemport discord. He also streams it to Twitch.

@themarkymark announced his @hivepunks NFT project during his presentation and then sold out all 10,000 of them in 36 hours. I’m thinking that the presence of NFTs on the chain is going to grow.

Not to be unkind, but, some people are not speakers. Knowing a topic and being passionate about it, doesn’t always translate well when you’re just not a public speaker. That’s okay, not everyone is a speaker. Not everyone can engage and hold an audience’s attention. It’s also okay to know that and enlist someone to share your message on your behalf.

As you might have guessed, there were some fantastic presentations. There were also some that I was really interested in the subject material and disappointed with the presentation.

We take the good with the bad and overall, I don’t regret taking the time to attend. Hive has a lot going on and bringing us together at least once a year to get some updates on projects and the state of the blockchain is vital. I know that the presentations that were done pretty much just scratch the surface of what is cooking on Hive.

This is getting lengthy so I’m not going to get into the rest of the rabbit holes I found while exploring Hivefest posts but I do know:

  • I want to learn more about things like the HAF (@blocktrades and @howo presented on that)
  • I found some references to a project called #projectblank that I think is going to be like a Twitter on the chain
  • I discovered @inji just before Hivefest and then missed @therealwolf’s presentation on it so I want to hear that when it’s available
  • I came across some information about collaborations with @peerplays and Amasa that I want to explore some more https://www.amasa.io/
  • I realized I didn’t have @taskmaster4450 on my notifications for some reason. Fixed that.
  • added a few others to the list as well
  • discovered that noise.cash and read.cash don’t actually operate on a blockchain even though you can earn BCH on them. After the Uptrennd experience, that detail is a red flag for me.

Aren’t you glad I didn’t talk about the rabbit holes I found? Maybe.. In another post. At some point.

Overall, I like that there may be a hybrid HiveFest next year which will be great for those who don’t travel to still take part. There’s my morning used up, and half the afternoon.

Has been a long hour.

Sort:  

Thank you for the mention, and yes I do shill PYPT quite a bit. I think it is a very undervalued resource, much like @theterminal, for new bloggers/vloggers. I will continue to shill as word of mouth is the best marketing and everyone knows I have a big mouth which makes me the perfect marketer for PYPT! 😂

Blessings and groovy vibes to my dearest and oldest friend (not referring to your age, but the length of time we have known each other. Thought I would make that clarification!) on the HIVE blockchain! See you on Thursday, Lord willing. Have some !PIZZA 🍕

much say I enjoy that virtual !PIZZA, I love the real stuff but the virtual is calorie free. And yes, you are the perfect marketer, willing to speak up and talk.

@shadowspub, sorry! You need more to stake more $PIZZA to use this command.

The minimum requirement is 20.0 PIZZA staked.

More $PIZZA is available from Hive-Engine or Tribaldex

thanks for the heads up

I got a selfie with you 😝

OH .. didn't even see that happen .. where were we?

Ha ha, believe it was sometime around Pizza and Web 3.0

I added you as a friend as i got your glimpse but then could not find you.... Snif

I was there with you and @stickupboys for a hot minute. even freestyled to that beat he was laying down.

Happy days! Wish we had done more of that was excellent fun !PIZZA

Oh my I did not see you, otherwise I would have talked, I was overwhelmed and shy lol 😂 but not with who I knew from keakow, I struggled to navigate (first time on a game and 2D, no heasdset) so I would not even know how to spin, if you were out of my view due to angle, really did not see you and maybe you were right there, I believe that lol 🤣 so now we must catch up on discord.

The sentence of the night was from @dreemsteem saying "I am right behind you" lol 😂 and me awkwardly trying to learn to rorate lol 🤣 to see her. She can tell.

Other than that, hiii sorry I miss you

🐀🐀🐀 Squeak

Ha, no worries sweets, I was standing right by you prolly why you didn't see me. Krakow was fun as shit. Hopefully next year, we won't have to do this online but can all feel fleshy faces again1

hahahahahahahahahahahahahahahaha

right?!?!?! LOL i was so overwhelmed too - but i tried to fake it very well hahahahaa

but i think we were all really so scared deep down hahaha

but now that we did it - we will be less scared next time and help others hehehe

Rabbits?
Did you have to mention Rabbits?

Rabbit holes... never found the rabbits.. i think you have them.

Excellent post about things happening this year at HiveFest! Thanks for the links and videos.

The excellent and super fast selling Hive Punks NFT project is actually at @punksonhive and @blockheadgames - everyone should go follow them! :)

It sounds like it was an interesting event. Was some sort of virtual headset required? I could look this up. I wondered about it. I thought of attending, but didn't.

no you could attend using your computer without a headset.. that is 2D mode .. the headset gives you 3D

PIZZA! PIZZA!

PIZZA Holders sent $PIZZA tips in this post's comments:
stickupboys tipped enginewitty (x1)
@sgt-dan(4/10) tipped @shadowspub (x1)

You can now send $PIZZA tips in Discord via tip.cc!

Congratulations @shadowspub! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You got more than 9250 replies.
Your next target is to reach 9500 replies.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP