You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Steemit is an absolute joke

in #dregs5 years ago (edited)

While some of us are gathering SP to deal with them, you are just one of the many little "cucks", in your own words, who sit in your little corner clicking the upvote button on yourself.

Well, I applaud that. Let me know when you've accumulated a stake big enough to counter the likes of Bernie and questionable actors, including Steem, Inc.

Where the hell are you as @blocktrades put out polls for proposals. Where the hell are you as @steemalliance try to set up funds to attract dev talents?

You're talking about surface level-changes, not code deep. As long as STEEM has no identity verification (Oracles isn't enough) but actual DNA/fingerprint/some nongameable variation of that, polls are useless, as are any kind of account or stake-based voting alone.

That's right. You aren't there. You are just in your little bubble getting that 0.05 per placeholder.

Some of us got tired of spending 8+ hours a day "contributing to the STEEM community" by brainstorming ideas that never get implemented, pouring our own funds in to support other creators, ending up losing huge amounts of capital, etc.

I'm not complaining, but explaining "where I am." Doing other, more productive things, that's where.

Flag is part of the code. Get used to it. Or is code-is-law only happens when it benefits only you?

I never complained about the flag function. I support flagging. In fact, it seems to work well in these instances if the goal is to discontinue an account from posting. However, I'm pointing out that until you fix underlying mechanisms, you will be chasing the pot at the end of the rainbow implementing all these shallow-layer bandaids until your hands bleed.

Sort:  

Comment created to bypass flags to reward @dregs via beneficiary rewards.

Comment created to bypass flags to reward @dregs via beneficiary rewards.

Well, no whales enjoy a prolonged battle against someone even with only 1/3 of their stake. Once significant enough, it would be a pain without other whales, etc. support. Saw that happen with the recent flag skirmishes.

But yes, Steem is a hobby to a lot of us who are actually flagging. People take their payouts too seriously. I'd prefer it more if upvotes and downvotes happened frequently just like on Reddit.

As for underlying changes, I'm no dev, so I don't care. Places like China are already banning people from accessing frontends. I think regulation will eventually creep into the space whether we like it or not.

In addition, if Blocktrades' proposal of rerouting 20% author rewards go through, it would make it easier to flag down people. Unfortunately, who knows if that money doesn't end in his pocket. lol

Well, no whales enjoy a prolonged battle against someone even with only 1/3 of their stake. Once significant enough, it would be a pain without other whales, etc. support. Saw that happen with the recent flag skirmishes.

True enough. Trust me, if I had a few hundred million dollars sitting around, I'd raise some hell around here. I'm sure many of us would.

But yes, Steem is a hobby to a lot of us who are actually flagging. People take their payouts too seriously. I'd prefer it more if upvotes and downvotes happened frequently just like on Reddit.

I think this is what got me a bit irritated. That's all well and good, but (no offense) people like you don't know what it's like to lose six figures investing in this platform hoping to help a lot of others, plus obviously myself. And then you come preach about a few cents on some shitposts.

As for underlying changes, I'm no dev, so I don't care. Places like China are already banning people from accessing frontends. I think regulation will eventually creep into the space whether we like it or not.

Regulation is one way to deal with the problems, and that will inevitably come. I still say that even fingerprint scanning technology present on iPhones, once on every computer, could sign transactions etc. in a way that made sure you're you.

In addition, if Blocktrades' proposal of rerouting 20% author rewards go through, it would make it easier to flag down people. Unfortunately, who knows if that money doesn't end in his pocket. lol

That was one of the worst ideas I've read lately. They should take from some other category. Author rewards are already low enough as it is.

I think this is what got me a bit irritated. That's all well and good, but (no offense) people like you don't know what it's like to lose six figures

Well, Steem isn't the only place people lose 6 figures in investments. Some of us only keep Steem at a miniscule percentage (like <2%) of our total portfolio. Then, you have people with millions of SP who dropped 90% of their net worth (so they claim) into this platform alone.

Some of our bigger flaggers with 6-digit SPs have lost quite a bit, but they are just chugging along, trying to be more involved and make things better.

If they would increase curation rewards while they are at it, I think there could be some things to it. I mean, hell, you could always join Trevon's Back Scratchers lol

Well, Steem isn't the only place people lose 6 figures in investments. Some of us only keep Steem at a miniscule percentage (like <2%) of our total portfolio. Then, you have people with millions of SP who dropped 90% of their net worth (so they claim) into this platform alone.

Yep, I never claimed to be a smart investor. It was stupid, but I was in love with the ideas behind Steemit and it is the only crypto I've ever used practically on a daily basis.

Some of our bigger flaggers with 6-digit SPs have lost quite a bit, but they are just chugging along, trying to be more involved and make things better.

Yeah, the bigger the whale, the greater the loss. The difference is, they usually still have the money to buy groceries.

If they would increase curation rewards while they are at it, I think there could be some things to it.

Why in God's Name have they still not increased curation rewards...

Why in God's Name have they still not increased curation rewards...

No idea....even bots would be more profitable if that happened.