Drone Documentary Rise Of Micro Drones Warfare

in #drone7 years ago

The future of hard-to-detect drone surveillance will mimic nature. The dragonfly "insect spy" drone is old, but bug-sized microdrones with flapping wings are still considered the future. The U.S. is not alone in miniaturizing drones that imitate nature; France has flapping wing bio-inspired microdrones and the Netherlands BioMAV ,Biologically Inspired A.I. for Micro Aerial Vehicles.

John Hopkins University said i"butterfly research will aid the development of flying bug-size robots" and showed off this "insect-inspired flapping-wing MAV under development at Harvard University." That looks a great deal like the "fly drone" yet again, only this time compared to a penny. Are they commonly used and we just don't know it? The Air Force Office of Scientific Research and the National Science Foundation funded the insect flight dynamics research, so John Hopkins reseachers have turned to studying even smaller MAV bugs like fruit flies.

The University of Pennsylvania GRASP Lab showed off drones that swarm, a network of 20 nano quadrotors flying in synchronized formations. Engadget called them "four-bladed aerial ninjas," but the SWARMS goal is to combine swarm technology with bio-inspired drones to operate "with little or no direct human supervision" in "dynamic, resource-constrained, adversarial environments."

Sort:  

Wow! This is an extremely interesting development and I had no idea that something like SWARMS existed. I heard it here first! Thank you for sharing @litcoinkid

I can't wait to have a nano drone :) , Thank you for your comment.

I just checked out the book Kill Decision which is about drones. Really good fiction read. Although it's so real that this could be reality soon.

Thanks stevo,i will take a look :)

Wawww very nice post .. I like your post, do not forget my upvote and follow me, check my p continue because there are interesting every time

Thank you :)

Hi! I am a robot. I just upvoted you! I found similar content that readers might be interested in:
http://www.networkworld.com/article/2222611/microsoft-subnet/the-future-of-drone-surveillance--swarms-of-cyborg-insect-drones.html

Woah that's crazy a drone bug?!?!? Great post

I am never tired of admiring the inventiveness of the human mind. I'm just trying to figure out where we'll be 10 years from now.

Hopefully with my nano drone :)

This post received a 2.1% upvote from @randowhale thanks to @litcoinkid! For more information, click here!

This scares me

I know the futrure is scary stuff.

This post received a 4.2% upvote from @randowhale thanks to @litcoinkid! For more information, click here!