Why I started flying wings more often than quads (drones)

in #drones6 years ago

Around March this year I bought a Blade Theory W on a whim..I never realized I would move primarily from quads to wings.
Here is what hooked me:
Flight time- a single flight can be any where from 5 minutes to 2 hours. Quads were giving me about 3 minutes
Speed- I can easily do 70 mph for long stretches without damaging the battery.
Video- Without carbon fiber surrounding the signal, my video feed has been much clearer with a wing and I can go much much further on 800 watts of 5.8ghz. I can easily do 1.5 miles with clear video using only a L9R receiver (I am converted to TBS crossfire).

The attached video shows an 11 minute flight (some of the beginning was cut). Most of the flight is mellow cruising around but I was not shooting for a record time.