You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: It’s Good, Not Bad - Drop in the Ocean – Criticism

in #dropintheocean5 years ago

Well, I can say that I know exactly what you mean in this type of situation and I am glad you spoke up. As a general rule, I accept constructive criticism as a gesture to give me something to chew on, an opinion differing from their own and meant to perhaps show me a possible different way.

I am open to that.

Downright mean remarks... not so much. So, yes! I agree with you!

!tip

Sort:  

I played football in HS and had Army basic training. In both cases, I (along with every other guy there), were hit with criticisms that were embarrassing, painful and infuriating, but they helped all of us to work harder and get better at doing what we were there to do, as a team.

I'm sure my experience with harsh criticism and the benefit I got from it, has a lot to do with why I am so positive about criticism in general. In these types of situations harshness was, and is, beneficial.

I'd say that when someone blasts another person, with no other goal in mind than just to be mean to that person, it isn't criticism we're seeing. It's just someone being mean.