TIFO=Dr Seuss

in #drseuss6 years ago (edited)

I'm sure that many of you know that Theodor Geisel was the real name of, Dr Seuss. You either read his books yourself or to your kids/grandkids. Green Eggs & Ham, The Cat in the Hat, The Lorax, How the Grinch Stole Christmas, to name a few. You probably, like myself, believe that Seuss is pronounced like, loose. Today I found out that the true pronunciation is, zoice (like voice). Theodor Geisel used the name in honor of his mother, whose maiden was Seuss. As most Americans mispronounced the Bavarian name, he eventually gave up correcting people on the actual pronunciation.

Sort:  

Wow, I never knew this either.. how very interesting! Love everything Dr. Seuss.. ♡ @amatchgirl

One thing I'd like to get involved with is teaching adults to read. I don't know if we're able to select the books. I said to my husband, I think that Dr Seuss would be good. With the rhyming, it has a good flow. It would probably help people remember better.