You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Drugwars - 48h to get Ready!

in #drugwars5 years ago

I note you are continuing to misapprehend the situation. The devs are making a game, and that game will either stand or fall depending on players continuing to play and entering the game.

Either 'minnows' are going to join because they can prosper, or the game will die.

If the game becomes simply a vehicle which potentiates whales to spend lotsa money on units that can strip minnows of assets, who's gonna play?

The object of a game is entertainment. ROI is not the purpose of a game. ROI is the purpose of an investment vehicle. There is a difference - even if there are opportunities to generate returns.

Many RPGs have some kind of internal economy. Almost all of them have been used to generate financial returns via 'gold farming', and Chinese boiler room type operations are notorious for seeking to generate financial returns from such games.

This is harmful to the games because it's harmful to the player community. It creates inflation, amongst other problems, and most games do what they can to discourage it.

Games =/= stocks.

Sort:  

I do think that you have totally misread my reply as how I think about the game.

It is an analysis of the actual situation, we also are in world of money. On that basis many take different approaches, ROI being one of them.

Yet, given your black and white opening... i really couldn’t care less about the rest.

I’ve given a large part of my life to MMOs and that is what this is for me. That’s I can also look at and understand others who look at things differently seems beyond you. That i ran a mini ROI experiment does not define me, or maybe it does because i love experiments.

Aware of the inevitable economic changes coming, I also endeavored to ensure I attained an ROI greater than 100%. My understanding of your considerations of this game come from several comments that are all little more than financial analyses. Little mention of other aspects of games was evident, so if you do have a broader interest in the game, this is actually the first indication of it.

I say it a lot, but society is far more than an economy, and this is no less true of games. Folks that singlemindedly focus on economic factors may enjoy that, but I don't, and neither do most people. Steem being what it is, there's a significant concentration of people that think like that here, and our trending page reflects that.

My hope is that as more dapps are formed, and more communities based on various interests grow, mere financial bean counting will be ever less in evidence going forward. I've got far more important things to worry about, consider, and enjoy.

If I have misunderstood your interest, it is because all I had to go on was your comments, and they deal almost exclusively on economic factors.

Actually I’ve commented a lot about the need of minnows in this type of games for the whales to continue investing. That actually does apply also to MMO IAPs.Beyond Starcraft mining type games. There is a huge overlap in the mechanics, the focus is different but it doesn’t change much for the mechanic, the ROI part makes the mechanics only more difficult for the devs.

Yet, if every upgrade becomes more expensive... why are the production increases linear??? That’s applicable both with or without ROI focus.

Those just focus less on the returns. But focusing on returns is an integral part of Steem for many. Yet, if you look at my feed you may notice it isn’t for me. Otherwise I would post at least twice a day, and definitely also submit daily to Steemhunt where I am highest user level.