Marcus Kaye, aka Marcus Intalex the great drum and bass producer has died.

in #drumandbass7 years ago

Marcus Intalex (aka Marcus Kaye) was a prominent producer of electronic music between 1991 and May of 2017. He has spent most of his career playing Drum and bass tracks, with a secondary focus on House music. After starting a radio show called "Da Intalex" in '93 he later moved on to start three record labels called Soul:R, Revolve:R, and Birdie (after his favorite sport: Golf) He has toured globally for many years when he unexpectedly died in Manchester, UK last night.

This has been a real shock to me as Marcus Intalex was one of the first DJ's that got me listening to drum and bass music. I first heard him around 2007 with his Fabriclive: 25 mix. I like his music because of its layered "Neurofunk" style and tendency to not be "too heavy" as which dominates most of the genre today. He inspired me to start DJ'ing so many years ago and his tunes have helped me through some of my best and worst times.

Here is a small selection of his tracks that I enjoy. Make sure to crank it up to feel the bass, and enjoy!
Marcus Intalex: Virgo (2011)

Marcus Intalex & S.P.Y : Celestial Navigation

You are not forgotten Mate, I hope you are scoring eagles in the sky.
Thank you for reading, please feel free to comment if you have something to share.

Sort:  

Yay R.I.P Marcus, amazing producer, his tracks and remixes are great.... https://soundcloud.com/bodegajames/marcus-intalex-rip-mix

sad times man

Congratulations @kingofkong! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard - Witness Update
SteemitBoard to support the german speaking community meetups
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!